Night film: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERNAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR
  • Cosmopolitan
  • Kirkus Reviews
  • BookPageA page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy—the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker. On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley's life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova—a man who hasn't been seen in public for more than thirty years. For McGrath, another death connected to this seemingly cursed family dynasty seems more than just a coincidence. Though much has been written about Cordova's dark and unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself. Driven by revenge, curiosity, and a need for the truth, McGrath, with the aid of two strangers, is drawn deeper and deeper into Cordova's eerie, hypnotic world. The last time he got close to exposing the director, McGrath lost his marriage and his career. This time he might lose even more. Night Film, the gorgeously written, spellbinding new novel by the dazzlingly inventive Marisha Pessl, will hold you in suspense until you turn the final page.Praise for Night Film "Night Film has been precision-engineered to be read at high velocity, and its energy would be the envy of any summer blockbuster. Your average writer of thrillers should lust for Pessl's deft touch with character."—Joe Hill, The New York Times Book Review "Mysterious and even a little head-spinning, an amazing act of imagination."—Dean Baquet, The New York Times Book Review "Maniacally clever . . . Cordova is a monomaniacal genius who creeps into the darkest crevices of the human psyche. . . . As a study of a great mythmaker, Night Film is an absorbing act of myth-making itself. . . . Dastardly fun . . . The plot feels like an M. C. Escher nightmare about Edgar Allan Poe. . . . You'll miss your subway stop, let dinner burn and start sleeping with the lights on."The Washington Post "Haunting . . . a suspenseful, sprawling page-turner."USA Today "Entrancing and delightful . . . [a] whipsmart humdinger of a thriller . . . It feels, above all things, new."The Boston Globe "Gripping . . . a masterful puzzle . . . Pessl builds up real suspense."Entertainment Weekly "A very deeply imagined book . . . sprints to an ending that's equal parts nagging and haunting: What lingers, beyond all the page-turning, is a density of possible clues that leaves you leafing backward, scanning fictional blog comments and newspaper clippings, positive there's some secret detail that will snap everything into focus."New York "Hypnotic . . . The real and the imaginary, life and art, are dizzyingly distorted not only in a Cordova night film . . . but in Pessl's own Night Film as well."Vanity FairFrom the Hardcover edition.
  • Also in This Series
    More Like This
    More Copies In Prospector
    Loading Prospector Copies...
    More Details
    ISBN:
    9781400067886
    9780679643913
    140006788
    Reviews from GoodReads
    Loading GoodReads Reviews.
    Staff View

    Grouping Information

    Grouped Work ID 0c4757ee-6455-cedd-6522-b45acb5c4ca0
    Grouping Title night film
    Grouping Author pessl marisha
    Grouping Category book
    Last Grouping Update 2019-08-24 01:49:08AM
    Last Indexed 2019-08-24 03:10:31AM

    Solr Details

    accelerated_reader_interest_level
    accelerated_reader_point_value 0
    accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
    author Marisha Pessl
    author_display Pessl, Marisha
    detailed_location_catalog Wright Farms - Adult Fiction
    display_description NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
    NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
    NPR
  • Cosmopolitan
  • Kirkus Reviews
  • BookPage
    A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy—the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker.


    On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley's life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova—a man who hasn't been seen in public for more than thirty years.

    For McGrath, another death connected to this seemingly cursed family dynasty seems more than just a coincidence. Though much has been written about Cordova's dark and unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself.

    Driven by revenge, curiosity, and a need for the truth, McGrath, with the aid of two strangers, is drawn deeper and deeper into Cordova's eerie, hypnotic world.

    The last time he got close to exposing the director, McGrath lost his marriage and his career. This time he might lose even more.

    Night Film, the gorgeously written, spellbinding new novel by the dazzlingly inventive Marisha Pessl, will hold you in suspense until you turn the final page.
    Praise for Night Film

    "Night Film has been precision-engineered to be read at high velocity, and its energy would be the envy of any summer blockbuster. Your average writer of thrillers should lust for Pessl's deft touch with character."—Joe Hill, The New York Times Book Review

    "Mysterious and even a little head-spinning, an amazing act of imagination."—Dean Baquet, The New York Times Book Review

    "Maniacally clever . . . Cordova is a monomaniacal genius who creeps into the darkest crevices of the human psyche. . . . As a study of a great mythmaker, Night Film is an absorbing act of myth-making itself. . . . Dastardly fun . . . The plot feels like an M. C. Escher nightmare about Edgar Allan Poe. . . . You'll miss your subway stop, let dinner burn and start sleeping with the lights on."The Washington Post

    "Haunting . . . a suspenseful, sprawling page-turner."USA Today

    "Entrancing and delightful . . . [a] whipsmart humdinger of a thriller . . . It feels, above all things, new."The Boston Globe

    "Gripping . . . a masterful puzzle . . . Pessl builds up real suspense."Entertainment Weekly

    "A very deeply imagined book . . . sprints to an ending that's equal parts nagging and haunting: What lingers, beyond all the page-turning, is a density of possible clues that leaves you leafing backward, scanning fictional blog comments and newspaper clippings, positive there's some secret detail that will snap everything into focus."New York

    "Hypnotic . . . The real and the imaginary, life and art, are dizzyingly distorted not only in a Cordova night film . . . but in Pessl's own Night Film as well."Vanity Fair
    From the Hardcover edition.
  • format_catalog Book
    eBook
    format_category_catalog Books
    eBook
    id 0c4757ee-6455-cedd-6522-b45acb5c4ca0
    isbn 140006788
    9780679643913
    9781400067886
    item_details
    Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
    ils:934888 1310980 Wright Farms - Adult Fiction FIC PESSL o Book Books 1 false false Checked out wf
    overdrive:442176f4-3ccb-460a-92ac-3af1d95a8455 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 2 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
    itype_catalog
    last_indexed 2019-08-24T09:10:31.418Z
    lexile_score -1
    literary_form Fiction
    literary_form_full Fiction
    local_callnumber_catalog FIC PESSL o
    owning_library_catalog All Anythink Libraries
    owning_location_catalog Wright Farms
    primary_isbn 9781400067886
    publishDate 2013
    record_details
    Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
    ils:934888 Book Books First edition. English Random House, [2013] xv, 602 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm.
    overdrive:442176f4-3ccb-460a-92ac-3af1d95a8455 eBook eBook English Random House Publishing Group 2013
    recordtype grouped_work
    scoping_details_catalog
    Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
    ils:934888 1310980 Checked Out Checked out false false true false false true
    overdrive:442176f4-3ccb-460a-92ac-3af1d95a8455 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
    subject_facet Counterculture -- Fiction
    FICTION / Literary
    FICTION / Thrillers / General
    FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense
    Father-daughter relationship -- Fiction
    Fathers and daughters -- Fiction
    Investigative reporting -- Fiction
    Mystery fiction
    New York (N.Y.) -- Fiction
    Psychological fiction
    Subculture -- Fiction
    Suicide -- Fiction
    title_display Night film : a novel
    title_full Night Film A Novel
    Night film : a novel / Marisha Pessl
    title_short Night film :
    title_sub a novel
    topic_facet Counterculture
    Father-daughter relationship
    Fathers and daughters
    Fiction
    Investigative reporting
    Literature
    Subculture
    Suicide
    Suspense
    Thriller