12.21: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
From the co-author of the two-million copy mega-bestseller The Rule of Four comes a riveting thriller with a brilliant premise based on the 2012 apocalypse phenomenon—perfect for readers of Steve Berry, Preston and Child, and Dan Brown. For decades, December 21, 2012, has been a touchstone for doomsayers worldwide. It is the date, they claim, when the ancient Maya calendar predicts the world will end. In Los Angeles, two weeks before, all is calm. Dr. Gabriel Stanton takes his usual morning bike ride, drops off the dog with his ex-wife, and heads to the lab where he studies incurable prion diseases for the CDC. His first phone call is from a hospital resident who has an urgent case she thinks he needs to see. Meanwhile, Chel Manu, a Guatemalan American researcher at the Getty Museum, is interrupted by a desperate, unwelcome visitor from the black market antiquities trade who thrusts a duffel bag into her hands. By the end of the day, Stanton, the foremost expert on some of the rarest infections in the world, is grappling with a patient whose every symptom confounds and terrifies him. And Chel, the brightest young star in the field of Maya studies, has possession of an illegal artifact that has miraculously survived the centuries intact: a priceless codex from a lost city of her ancestors. This extraordinary record, written in secret by a royal scribe, seems to hold the answer to her life's work and to one of history's great riddles: why the Maya kingdoms vanished overnight. Suddenly it seems that our own civilization might suffer this same fate. With only days remaining until December 21, 2012, Stanton and Chel must join forces before time runs out. Advance praise for 12.21 "Dustin Thomason, M.D., will invariably be compared to Michael Crichton, M.D., and 12.21 will be favorably compared to The Andromeda Strain. Both authors have written first-rate medical thrillers, the kind of fact-based fiction that is very scary but also very entertaining. Thomason knows his stuff, and it shows on every page. I truly could not put this book down."—Nelson DeMille"The most exciting novel of its kind since the days of Michael Crichton, 12.21 takes us from the frontiers of modern neuroscience to the riddles of ancient Maya texts, with nothing less than the future of our civilization at stake."—Vince Flynn"A fast-moving tale . . . Thomason displays an impressive depth of knowledge of both science and the ancient Mayan way of life. Along the way, he skillfully ramps up the action, one notch at a time. A winning book."—Kirkus Reviews"Fascinating, terrifying for its potential realism. I loved how tightly everything fit together. I had to keep reading."—Taylor Stevens, New York Times bestselling author of The Informationist"Fast, suspenseful . . . Michael Crichton fans will find a lot to like."—Publishers WeeklyFrom the Hardcover edition.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780449011591
9780679644286
9780449011621
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 20814a71-c7ad-afda-da59-eb3467e0513e
full_title 12 21
author thomason dustin
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-11-21 01:46:00AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Bearheart, Noël R., Sanders, Fred, 1955-.
author Thomason, Dustin.
author2-role Bearheart, Noël R.|Narrator, Sanders, Fred,1955-.|Narrator
author_display Dustin Thomason
available_at_catalog Huron Street
detailed_location_catalog Huron Street - Adult CD Audiobooks - Fiction
display_description From the co-author of the two-million copy mega-bestseller The Rule of Four comes a riveting thriller with a brilliant premise based on the 2012 apocalypse phenomenon—perfect for readers of Steve Berry, Preston and Child, and Dan Brown.

For decades, December 21, 2012, has been a touchstone for doomsayers worldwide. It is the date, they claim, when the ancient Maya calendar predicts the world will end.

In Los Angeles, two weeks before, all is calm. Dr. Gabriel Stanton takes his usual morning bike ride, drops off the dog with his ex-wife, and heads to the lab where he studies incurable prion diseases for the CDC. His first phone call is from a hospital resident who has an urgent case she thinks he needs to see. Meanwhile, Chel Manu, a Guatemalan American researcher at the Getty Museum, is interrupted by a desperate, unwelcome visitor from the black market antiquities trade who thrusts a duffel bag into her hands.

By the end of the day, Stanton, the foremost expert on some of the rarest infections in the world, is grappling with a patient whose every symptom confounds and terrifies him. And Chel, the brightest young star in the field of Maya studies, has possession of an illegal artifact that has miraculously survived the centuries intact: a priceless codex from a lost city of her ancestors. This extraordinary record, written in secret by a royal scribe, seems to hold the answer to her life's work and to one of history's great riddles: why the Maya kingdoms vanished overnight. Suddenly it seems that our own civilization might suffer this same fate.

With only days remaining until December 21, 2012, Stanton and Chel must join forces before time runs out.

Advance praise for 12.21

"Dustin Thomason, M.D., will invariably be compared to Michael Crichton, M.D., and 12.21 will be favorably compared to The Andromeda Strain. Both authors have written first-rate medical thrillers, the kind of fact-based fiction that is very scary but also very entertaining. Thomason knows his stuff, and it shows on every page. I truly could not put this book down."—Nelson DeMille
"The most exciting novel of its kind since the days of Michael Crichton, 12.21 takes us from the frontiers of modern neuroscience to the riddles of ancient Maya texts, with nothing less than the future of our civilization at stake."—Vince Flynn
"A fast-moving tale . . . Thomason displays an impressive depth of knowledge of both science and the ancient Mayan way of life. Along the way, he skillfully ramps up the action, one notch at a time. A winning book."—Kirkus Reviews
"Fascinating, terrifying for its potential realism. I loved how tightly everything fit together. I had to keep reading."—Taylor Stevens, New York Times bestselling author of The Informationist

"Fast, suspenseful . . . Michael Crichton fans will find a lot to like."—Publishers Weekly
From the Hardcover edition.
format_catalog Audio Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, eBook
id 20814a71-c7ad-afda-da59-eb3467e0513e
isbn 9780449011591, 9780449011621, 9780679644286
item_details ils:891510|1199527|Huron Street - Adult CD Audiobooks - Fiction|CD FIC THOMASON i|Audio Book|Audio Books|1|false|false|||||On Shelf||ng||, overdrive:889e00bd-fd52-43c1-b36a-5d0efc85f244|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||, overdrive:df445284-490e-474f-bd3a-79c4851ad2e1|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_catalog
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog CD FIC THOMASON i
owning_library_catalog All Anythink Libraries
owning_location_catalog Huron Street
primary_isbn 9780449011591
publishDate 2012
record_details ils:891510|Audio Book|Audio Books||English|Random House Audio,|p2012.|9 sound discs (11 hr.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in., overdrive:889e00bd-fd52-43c1-b36a-5d0efc85f244|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2012|, overdrive:df445284-490e-474f-bd3a-79c4851ad2e1|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2012|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:891510|1199527|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:889e00bd-fd52-43c1-b36a-5d0efc85f244|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, overdrive:df445284-490e-474f-bd3a-79c4851ad2e1|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Audiobooks, Communicable diseases -- Fiction, FICTION / Action & Adventure, FICTION / Medical, FICTION / Thrillers / General, Manuscripts -- Fiction, Native Americans -- Mayas -- Antiquities -- Fiction, Prophecies -- Fiction, Suspense fiction
title_display 12.21
title_full 12.21 A Novel, 12.21 [sound recording] : a novel / Dustin Thomason
title_short 12.21
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet Antiquities, Communicable diseases, Fiction, Literature, Manuscripts, Mayas, Native Americans, Prophecies, Thriller