Cloud Atlas: [a novel]

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks
  • Now a major motion picture • Shortlisted for the Man Booker PrizeIncludes a new Afterword by David MitchellA postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history.But the story doesn't end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon.Praise for Cloud Atlas "[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel's every page."The New York Times Book Review "One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is—and should be—read by any student of contemporary literature."—Dave Eggers "Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative."People "The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet—not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I've never read anything quite like it, and I'm grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds."—Michael Chabon "Cloud Atlas ought to make [Mitchell] famous on both sides of the Atlantic as a writer whose fearlessness is matched by his talent."The Washington Post Book World
  • Also in this Series
    More Like This
    More Copies In Prospector
    Loading Prospector Copies...
    More Details
    ISBN:
    9781415951613
    9781415919781
    141591978
    9780307483041
    Reviews from GoodReads
    Loading GoodReads Reviews.
    Staff View

    Grouping Information

    Grouped Work ID 25d78341-7baa-3f6e-6070-520fbaa9b43b
    Grouping Title cloud atlas
    Grouping Author mitchell david
    Grouping Category book
    Last Grouping Update 2018-07-21 13:34:50PM
    Last Indexed 2018-07-21 13:39:03PM

    Solr Details

    accelerated_reader_interest_level
    accelerated_reader_point_value 0
    accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
    author David Mitchell
    author_display Mitchell, David
    detailed_location_catalog Brighton - Adult CD Audiobooks - Fiction
    display_description By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks
  • Now a major motion picture • Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize
    Includes a new Afterword by David Mitchell

    A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.
    Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history.
    But the story doesn't end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.
    As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon.
    Praise for Cloud Atlas
    "[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel's every page."The New York Times Book Review
    "One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is—and should be—read by any student of contemporary literature."—Dave Eggers
    "Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative."People
    "The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet—not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I've never read anything quite like it, and I'm grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds."—Michael Chabon
    "Cloud Atlas ought to make [Mitchell] famous on both sides of the Atlantic as a writer whose fearlessness is matched by his talent."The Washington Post Book World
  • format_catalog Audio Book, eAudiobook, eBook
    format_category_catalog Audio Books, eBook
    id 25d78341-7baa-3f6e-6070-520fbaa9b43b
    isbn 141591978, 9780307483041, 9781415919781, 9781415951613
    item_details ils:905957|1233681|Brighton - Adult CD Audiobooks - Fiction|CD FIC MITCHELL trace_x|Audio Book|Audio Books|1|false|false|||||trace_x||br||, overdrive:00659b28-5e1f-44a7-9572-b0093c880281|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|3|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||, overdrive:203bc8a1-ae66-4e52-b758-8c7619e3318b|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
    itype_catalog
    last_indexed 2018-07-21T19:39:03.169Z
    lexile_score -1
    literary_form Fiction
    literary_form_full Fiction
    local_callnumber_catalog CD FIC MITCHELL trace_x
    owning_library_catalog All Anythink Libraries
    owning_location_catalog Brighton
    primary_isbn 9781415951613
    publishDate 2004, 2005, 2008
    record_details ils:905957|Audio Book|Audio Books|Library ed.|English|Books on Tape,|p2005.|16 sound discs (72 min. each) : digital ; 4 3/4 in., overdrive:00659b28-5e1f-44a7-9572-b0093c880281|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2008|, overdrive:203bc8a1-ae66-4e52-b758-8c7619e3318b|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2004|
    recordtype grouped_work
    scoping_details_catalog
    Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
    overdrive:203bc8a1-ae66-4e52-b758-8c7619e3318b -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
    ils:905957 1233681 trace_x trace_x false false true false false true
    overdrive:00659b28-5e1f-44a7-9572-b0093c880281 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
    subject_facet Audiobooks, Compact discs, Fantasy fiction, Fate and fatalism -- Fiction, Linked stories, Reincarnation -- Fiction
    title_display Cloud Atlas
    title_full Cloud Atlas, Cloud Atlas A Novel, Cloud atlas [sound recording] : [a novel] / David Mitchell
    title_short Cloud Atlas
    title_sub [a novel]
    topic_facet Fantasy, Fate and fatalism, Fiction, Historical Fiction, Literature, Reincarnation