Cloud atlas: [a novel]

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 6.5 - AR Pts: 27
Description
By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks | Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize | Includes a new Afterword by David MitchellA postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history.But the story doesn't end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon.Praise for Cloud Atlas "[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel's every page."The New York Times Book Review "One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is—and should be—read by any student of contemporary literature."—Dave Eggers "Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative."People "The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet—not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I've never read anything quite like it, and I'm grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds."—Michael Chabon "Cloud Atlas ought to make [Mitchell] famous on both sides of the Atlantic as a writer whose fearlessness is matched by his talent."The Washington Post Book World "Thrilling . . . One of the biggest joys in Cloud Atlas is watching Mitchell sashay from genre to genre without a hitch in his dance step."Boston Sunday Globe "Grand and elaborate . . . [Mitchell] creates a world and language at once foreign and strange, yet strikingly familiar and intimate."Los Angeles TimesFrom the Trade Paperback edition.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780375507250
141591978
9781415919781
9781415951613
9780307483041
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 6.5, 27 Points
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 25d78341-7baa-3f6e-6070-520fbaa9b43b
full_title cloud atlas
author mitchell david
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-11-20 01:57:07AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 27
accelerated_reader_reading_level 6.5
author Mitchell, David (David Stephen)
author_display Mitchell, David
available_at_catalog Brighton
detailed_location_catalog Brighton - Adult CD Audiobooks - Fiction, Brighton - Adult Fiction, Huron Street - Adult Fiction
display_description By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks | Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize | Includes a new Afterword by David Mitchell
A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.
Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history.
But the story doesn't end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.
As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon.
Praise for Cloud Atlas

"[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel's every page."The New York Times Book Review

"One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is—and should be—read by any student of contemporary literature."—Dave Eggers

"Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative."People

"The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet—not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I've never read anything quite like it, and I'm grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds."—Michael Chabon

"Cloud Atlas ought to make [Mitchell] famous on both sides of the Atlantic as a writer whose fearlessness is matched by his talent."The Washington Post Book World

"Thrilling . . . One of the biggest joys in Cloud Atlas is watching Mitchell sashay from genre to genre without a hitch in his dance step."Boston Sunday Globe

"Grand and elaborate . . . [Mitchell] creates a world and language at once foreign and strange, yet strikingly familiar and intimate."Los Angeles Times
From the Trade Paperback edition.
format_catalog Audio Book, Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 25d78341-7baa-3f6e-6070-520fbaa9b43b
isbn 141591978, 9780307483041, 9780375507250, 9781415919781, 9781415951613
item_details ils:545427|1747796|Huron Street - Adult Fiction|FIC MITCHELL l|Book|Books|1|false|false|||||Lost||ng||, ils:545427|1747797|Brighton - Adult Fiction|FIC MITCHELL o|Book|Books|1|false|false|||||Checked out||br||, ils:905957|1233681|Brighton - Adult CD Audiobooks - Fiction|CD FIC MITCHELL i|Audio Book|Audio Books|1|false|false|||||On Shelf||br||, overdrive:00659b28-5e1f-44a7-9572-b0093c880281|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|3|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||, overdrive:203bc8a1-ae66-4e52-b758-8c7619e3318b|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||
itype_catalog
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog CD FIC MITCHELL i, FIC MITCHELL l, FIC MITCHELL o
owning_library_catalog All Anythink Libraries
owning_location_catalog Brighton, Huron Street
primary_isbn 9780375507250
publishDate 2004, 2005, 2008
record_details ils:545427|Book|Books|1st U.S. ed.|English|Random House Trade Paperbacks,|c2004.|509 p. ; 22 cm., ils:905957|Audio Book|Audio Books|Library ed.|English|Books on Tape,|p2005.|16 sound discs (72 min. each) : digital ; 4 3/4 in., overdrive:00659b28-5e1f-44a7-9572-b0093c880281|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2008|, overdrive:203bc8a1-ae66-4e52-b758-8c7619e3318b|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2004|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:545427|1747796|Currently Unavailable|Lost|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:545427|1747797|Checked Out|Checked out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:905957|1233681|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:00659b28-5e1f-44a7-9572-b0093c880281|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, overdrive:203bc8a1-ae66-4e52-b758-8c7619e3318b|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Audiobooks, Compact discs, FICTION / Fantasy / General, FICTION / Literary, Fantasy fiction, Fate and fatalism -- Fiction, Linked stories, Reincarnation -- Fiction
title_display Cloud atlas : a novel
title_full Cloud Atlas, Cloud Atlas A Novel, Cloud atlas : a novel / David Mitchell, Cloud atlas [sound recording] : [a novel] / David Mitchell
title_short Cloud atlas :
title_sub [a novel]
topic_facet Fantasy, Fate and fatalism, Fiction, Historical Fiction, Literature, Reincarnation