Moody bitches: The Truth About the Drugs You're Taking, The Sleep You're Missing, The Sex You're Not Having, and What's Really Making You Crazy

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
A groundbreaking guide for women of all ages that shows women's inherent moodiness is a strength, not a weakness As women, we learn from an early age that our moods are a problem. Bitches are moody. To succeed in life, we are told, we must have it all under control. We have to tamp down our inherent shifts in favor of a more static way of being. But our bodies are wiser than we imagine. Moods are not an annoyance to be stuffed away. They are a finely-tuned feedback system that, if heeded, can tell us how best to manage our lives. Our changing moods let us know when our bodies are primed to tackle different challenges and when we should be alert to developing problems. They help us select the right tool for each of our many jobs. If we deny our emotionality, we deny the breadth of our talents. With the right care of our inherently dynamic bodies, we can master our moods to avail ourselves of this great natural strength. Yet millions of American women are medicating away their emotions because our culture says that moodiness is a problem to be fixed. One in four of us takes a psychiatric drug. If you add sleeping pills to the mix, the statistics become considerably higher. Over-prescribed medications can have devastating consequences for women in many areas of our lives: sex, relationships, sleep, eating, focus, balance, and aging. And even if we don't pop a pill, women everywhere are numbing their emotions with food, alcohol, and a host of addictive behaviors that deny the wisdom of our bodies and keep us from addressing the real issues that we face. Dr. Julie Holland knows there is a better way. She's been sharing her frank and funny wisdom with her patients for years, and in Moody Bitches Dr. Holland offers readers a guide to our bodies and our moodiness that includes insider information about the pros and cons of the drugs we're being offered, the direct link between food and mood, an honest discussion about sex, practical exercise and sleep strategies, as well as some surprising and highly effective natural therapies that can help us press the reset button on our own bodies and minds. In the tradition of Our Bodies, Our Selves, this groundbreaking guide for women of all ages will forge a much needed new path in women's health—and offer women invaluable information on how to live better, and be more balanced, at every stage of life.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781594205804
9781628996135
9780698136427
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 3af93ada-dcef-a51e-f400-101c9b4b1b24
full_title moody bitches the truth about the drugs you re taking the sleep you re missing the sex you re not ha
author holland julie
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-11-24 01:52:11AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Julie Holland
author_display Julie Holland
available_at_catalog Wright Farms
detailed_location_catalog Brighton - Adult Nonfiction, Wright Farms - Large Print - Nonfiction
display_description A groundbreaking guide for women of all ages that shows women's inherent moodiness is a strength, not a weakness

As women, we learn from an early age that our moods are a problem. Bitches are moody. To succeed in life, we are told, we must have it all under control. We have to tamp down our inherent shifts in favor of a more static way of being. But our bodies are wiser than we imagine. Moods are not an annoyance to be stuffed away. They are a finely-tuned feedback system that, if heeded, can tell us how best to manage our lives. Our changing moods let us know when our bodies are primed to tackle different challenges and when we should be alert to developing problems. They help us select the right tool for each of our many jobs. If we deny our emotionality, we deny the breadth of our talents. With the right care of our inherently dynamic bodies, we can master our moods to avail ourselves of this great natural strength.

Yet millions of American women are medicating away their emotions because our culture says that moodiness is a problem to be fixed. One in four of us takes a psychiatric drug. If you add sleeping pills to the mix, the statistics become considerably higher. Over-prescribed medications can have devastating consequences for women in many areas of our lives: sex, relationships, sleep, eating, focus, balance, and aging. And even if we don't pop a pill, women everywhere are numbing their emotions with food, alcohol, and a host of addictive behaviors that deny the wisdom of our bodies and keep us from addressing the real issues that we face.

Dr. Julie Holland knows there is a better way. She's been sharing her frank and funny wisdom with her patients for years, and in Moody Bitches Dr. Holland offers readers a guide to our bodies and our moodiness that includes insider information about the pros and cons of the drugs we're being offered, the direct link between food and mood, an honest discussion about sex, practical exercise and sleep strategies, as well as some surprising and highly effective natural therapies that can help us press the reset button on our own bodies and minds.

In the tradition of Our Bodies, Our Selves, this groundbreaking guide for women of all ages will forge a much needed new path in women's health—and offer women invaluable information on how to live better, and be more balanced, at every stage of life.
format_catalog Book, Large Print, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id 3af93ada-dcef-a51e-f400-101c9b4b1b24
isbn 9780698136427, 9781594205804, 9781628996135
item_details ils:1059072|1630156|Brighton - Adult Nonfiction|SOC SCI PSYCH o|Book|Books|1|false|false|||||Checked out||br||, ils:1060110|1660571|Wright Farms - Large Print - Nonfiction|LP HEALTH WOMEN i|Large Print|Books|1|false|false|||||On Shelf||wf||, overdrive:4ec8130e-8d7d-4727-846b-ec867c857817|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_catalog
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog LP HEALTH WOMEN i, SOC SCI PSYCH o
owning_library_catalog All Anythink Libraries
owning_location_catalog Brighton, Wright Farms
primary_isbn 9781594205804
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:1059072|Book|Books||English|Penguin Press,|2015.|420 pages ; 25 cm, ils:1060110|Large Print|Books|Large print edition.|English|Center Point Large Print,|[2015]|479 pages (large print) ; 23 cm, overdrive:4ec8130e-8d7d-4727-846b-ec867c857817|eBook|eBook||English|Penguin Publishing Group|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:1059072|1630156|Checked Out|Checked out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:1060110|1660571|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:4ec8130e-8d7d-4727-846b-ec867c857817|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Affective disorders, FAMILY & RELATIONSHIPS / Love & Romance, HEALTH & FITNESS / Diet & Nutrition / Diets, Hormones, Sex, Large type books, Mood (Psychology), Psychology / Emotions, SELF-HELP / Emotions, SELF-HELP / Mood Disorders / Depression, Sex (Psychology) -- Endocrine aspects, Socioendocrinology, Women -- Health and hygiene
title_display Moody bitches : the truth about the drugs you're taking, the sleep you're missing, the sex you're not having, and what's really making you feel crazy
title_full Moody Bitches The Truth About the Drugs You're Taking, The Sleep You're Missing, The Sex You're Not Having, and What's Really Making You Crazy, Moody bitches : the truth about the drugs you're taking, the sleep you're missing, the sex you're not having, and what's really making you feel crazy / Julie Holland, M.D., Moody bitches [text (large print)] : the truth about the drugs you're taking, the sleep you're missing, the sex you're not having, and what's really making you crazy / Julie Holland, M.D.
title_short Moody bitches :
title_sub The Truth About the Drugs You're Taking, The Sleep You're Missing, The Sex You're Not Having, and What's Really Making You Crazy
topic_facet Affective disorders, Endocrine aspects, Health & Fitness, Health and hygiene, Hormones, Sex, Large type books, Mood (Psychology), Nonfiction, Psychology, Self Help, Sex (Psychology), Socioendocrinology, Women