The debt of Tamar: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Thomas Dunne Books,
Pub. Date:
2015.
Language:
English
Description
"A USA TODAY Best seller! Four hundred years before Oskar Schindler there was Suleiman the Magnificent, an Ottoman sultan who rescued thousands of Jews from the fires of the Inquisition. Inspired by this amazing and little-known moment in history, Nicole Dweck has imagined an enchanting family saga where the kindness of one man is repaid generations later. It's 1544, and young José Mendez and his family escape the Inquisition in Portugal with the aid of Ottoman Sultan Suleiman the Magnificent. Yet it's only just before fleeing that José even finds out he's Jewish--and that his own parents died for their faith. As he makes a new life in Istanbul, he yearns to feel connected to the parents he lost, digging deeper into his Jewish roots. But when his own daughter secretly falls in love with the sultan's Muslim grandson, José finds himself in a life-changing dilemma, one that will shape generations to come. Centuries later, when Selim Osman, the last living descendant of the sultan, is diagnosed with a fatal condition, he abandons the only life he's ever known and flees Istanbul, taking refuge in a New York hospital. In a twist of fate, he meets Hannah, the daughter of a Holocaust survivor and an artist striving to understand a father she barely knows. Unaware the connection they share goes back centuries, they feel an immediate pull to one another. But when something from Selim's past comes to light, the act that bound two families centuries ago ripples into the future, threatening to tear them apart. From the 16th-century harem to WWII Paris to modern-day New York, Nicole Dweck's The Debt of Tamar weaves together a spellbinding tapestry of history with transcendent love and spirituality that will absorb readers from the very first page"--
"Four hundred years before Oskar Schindler there was Suleiman the Magnificent, an Ottoman sultan who rescued thousands of Jews from the Inquisition. Inspired by this amazing moment in history, Nicole Dweck has imagined an enchanting family saga in the tradition of Anita Diamant's The Red Tent and Nomi Eve's The Family Orchard. In 1544, as Inquisition fires rage in Portugal, young José Mendez discovers he's Jewish--and that his parents died for their faith. With the help of the Ottoman sultan, he escapes and makes a new life in Istanbul, where he digs deeper into his Jewish roots. But when his own daughter secretly falls in love with the sultan's Muslim grandson, José finds himself in a life-changing dilemma, one that will shape generations to come. In 2002, Selim Osman, the last living descendant of the Ottoman sultanate, flees Istanbul for New York. In a twist of fate he meets Hannah, the daughter of a Holocaust survivor. Unaware the connection they share goes back centuries, Hannah and Selim feel an immediate pull to one another. But when something from Selim's past comes to light, the act that bound two families ages ago ripples into the future, threatening to tear them apart. The Debt of Tamar weaves a spellbinding tapestry of love, history, and fate that will absorb readers from the very first page"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781250065681
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID3ead66bb-b3b3-a054-6356-e88edd49bd49
Grouping Titledebt of tamar
Grouping Authordweck nicole
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-12-15 01:56:03AM
Last Indexed2019-12-15 03:13:14AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorDweck, Nicole.
author_displayDweck, Nicole
available_at_catalogCommerce City
Huron Street
detailed_location_catalogCommerce City - Adult Fiction
Huron Street - Adult Fiction
display_description"A USA TODAY Best seller! Four hundred years before Oskar Schindler there was Suleiman the Magnificent, an Ottoman sultan who rescued thousands of Jews from the fires of the Inquisition. Inspired by this amazing and little-known moment in history, Nicole Dweck has imagined an enchanting family saga where the kindness of one man is repaid generations later. It's 1544, and young José Mendez and his family escape the Inquisition in Portugal with the aid of Ottoman Sultan Suleiman the Magnificent. Yet it's only just before fleeing that José even finds out he's Jewish--and that his own parents died for their faith. As he makes a new life in Istanbul, he yearns to feel connected to the parents he lost, digging deeper into his Jewish roots. But when his own daughter secretly falls in love with the sultan's Muslim grandson, José finds himself in a life-changing dilemma, one that will shape generations to come. Centuries later, when Selim Osman, the last living descendant of the sultan, is diagnosed with a fatal condition, he abandons the only life he's ever known and flees Istanbul, taking refuge in a New York hospital. In a twist of fate, he meets Hannah, the daughter of a Holocaust survivor and an artist striving to understand a father she barely knows. Unaware the connection they share goes back centuries, they feel an immediate pull to one another. But when something from Selim's past comes to light, the act that bound two families centuries ago ripples into the future, threatening to tear them apart. From the 16th-century harem to WWII Paris to modern-day New York, Nicole Dweck's The Debt of Tamar weaves together a spellbinding tapestry of history with transcendent love and spirituality that will absorb readers from the very first page"-- "Four hundred years before Oskar Schindler there was Suleiman the Magnificent, an Ottoman sultan who rescued thousands of Jews from the Inquisition. Inspired by this amazing moment in history, Nicole Dweck has imagined an enchanting family saga in the tradition of Anita Diamant's The Red Tent and Nomi Eve's The Family Orchard. In 1544, as Inquisition fires rage in Portugal, young José Mendez discovers he's Jewish--and that his parents died for their faith. With the help of the Ottoman sultan, he escapes and makes a new life in Istanbul, where he digs deeper into his Jewish roots. But when his own daughter secretly falls in love with the sultan's Muslim grandson, José finds himself in a life-changing dilemma, one that will shape generations to come. In 2002, Selim Osman, the last living descendant of the Ottoman sultanate, flees Istanbul for New York. In a twist of fate he meets Hannah, the daughter of a Holocaust survivor. Unaware the connection they share goes back centuries, Hannah and Selim feel an immediate pull to one another. But when something from Selim's past comes to light, the act that bound two families ages ago ripples into the future, threatening to tear them apart. The Debt of Tamar weaves a spellbinding tapestry of love, history, and fate that will absorb readers from the very first page"--
format_catalogBook
format_category_catalogBooks
id3ead66bb-b3b3-a054-6356-e88edd49bd49
isbn9781250065681
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:10462041593389Commerce City - Adult FictionFIC DWECK iBookBooks1falsefalseOn Shelfcc
ils:10462041593393Huron Street - Adult FictionFIC DWECK iBookBooks1falsefalseOn Shelfng
last_indexed2019-12-15T10:13:14.139Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFIC DWECK i
owning_library_catalogAll Anythink Libraries
owning_location_catalogCommerce City
Huron Street
primary_isbn9781250065681
publishDate2015
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:1046204BookBooksEnglishThomas Dunne Books, 2015.295 pages ; 25 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:10462041593389On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:10462041593393On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetFICTION / Historical
FICTION / Jewish
FICTION / Sagas
Historical fiction
Holocaust survivors -- Fiction
Inquisition -- Fiction
Jewish families -- Fiction
Love stories
Muslim families -- Fiction
New York (N.Y.) -- Fiction
Portugal -- Fiction
Süleyman -- I, -- Sultan of the Turks, -- 1494 or 1495-1566 -- Fiction
title_displayThe debt of Tamar : a novel
title_fullThe debt of Tamar : a novel / Nicole Dweck
title_shortThe debt of Tamar
title_suba novel
topic_facetHolocaust survivors
Inquisition
Jewish families
Muslim families
Süleyman