A reckless desire

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2016.
Language:
English
Description
For fans of Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Sabrina Jeffries: the elegantly seductive third historical romance in Isabella Bradford's Breconridge Brothers trilogy. Lord Rivers Fitzroy is as charming and sought-after as his rakish elder brothers, though he immerses himself more in dusty books and scholarly pursuits than in bawdy houses. Yet, Hell-bent on making the most of his remaining bachelorhood now that his father insists he marry, Rivers becomes the favorite of a troupe of Italian dancers. One night, after a performance, the handsome lord is challenged with a most provocative wager: Turn the players' meek and mousy cousin into the first lady of the London stage. But Lucia di Rossi is not what she seems. Scorned by the rest of her family, Lucia longs for the respect and stardom of a great actress. Rivers's wager could be the answer to all her hopes—so long as he understands that she wants to be an actress, not his mistress. The two commence her metamorphosis in earnest—even as passion begins to take center stage. As Lucia's dreams come true, she fears that it may be Rivers, not she, who is the master performer. Is he only making her believe he cares? Has she found the spotlight only to lose her heart—or will the final curtain reveal a love strong enough to last?Praise for A Reckless Desire "Isabella Bradford's remake of the My Fair Lady trope is exquisite. What I love the most is how Bradford's canvas of words treats the reader to a literary work of art. . . . A Reckless Desire is the kind of love story that makes me melt."Heroes and Heartbreakers "For those who adore Cinderella and Pygmalion plots, Bradford's third installment of the Breconridge Brothers series is perfection. With its wit and heart-tugging emotions, this winning tale steals readers' hearts."RT Book Reviews "A steamy romance with a unique storyline . . . The twists and turns within the story will keep readers turning pages. . . . The secondary characters add some wit and humor to A Reckless Desire, and the dialogue is fresh and excellently written."Fresh Fiction "A wonderful story of two vastly different people from opposite ends of the social ladder who find each other and fall in love."—The Reading WenchFrom the Paperback edition.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780345548160
9780345548177
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID4bafa533-e120-5328-672a-f7a2a0213008
Grouping Titlereckless desire
Grouping Authorbradford isabella
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-01-19 01:59:00AM
Last Indexed2020-01-19 03:12:41AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorIsabella Bradford
author_displayIsabella Bradford
available_at_catalogBrighton
Wright Farms
detailed_location_catalogBrighton - Adult Fiction - Romance
Wright Farms - Adult Fiction - Romance
display_descriptionFor fans of Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Sabrina Jeffries: the elegantly seductive third historical romance in Isabella Bradford's Breconridge Brothers trilogy.

Lord Rivers Fitzroy is as charming and sought-after as his rakish elder brothers, though he immerses himself more in dusty books and scholarly pursuits than in bawdy houses. Yet, Hell-bent on making the most of his remaining bachelorhood now that his father insists he marry, Rivers becomes the favorite of a troupe of Italian dancers. One night, after a performance, the handsome lord is challenged with a most provocative wager: Turn the players' meek and mousy cousin into the first lady of the London stage.

But Lucia di Rossi is not what she seems. Scorned by the rest of her family, Lucia longs for the respect and stardom of a great actress. Rivers's wager could be the answer to all her hopes—so long as he understands that she wants to be an actress, not his mistress. The two commence her metamorphosis in earnest—even as passion begins to take center stage. As Lucia's dreams come true, she fears that it may be Rivers, not she, who is the master performer. Is he only making her believe he cares? Has she found the spotlight only to lose her heart—or will the final curtain reveal a love strong enough to last?
Praise for A Reckless Desire

"Isabella Bradford's remake of the My Fair Lady trope is exquisite. What I love the most is how Bradford's canvas of words treats the reader to a literary work of art. . . . A Reckless Desire is the kind of love story that makes me melt."Heroes and Heartbreakers

"For those who adore Cinderella and Pygmalion plots, Bradford's third installment of the Breconridge Brothers series is perfection. With its wit and heart-tugging emotions, this winning tale steals readers' hearts."RT Book Reviews

"A steamy romance with a unique storyline . . . The twists and turns within the story will keep readers turning pages. . . . The secondary characters add some wit and humor to A Reckless Desire, and the dialogue is fresh and excellently written."Fresh Fiction

"A wonderful story of two vastly different people from opposite ends of the social ladder who find each other and fall in love."—The Reading Wench
From the Paperback edition.
format_catalogBook
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
id4bafa533-e120-5328-672a-f7a2a0213008
isbn9780345548160
9780345548177
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:10795151679389Brighton - Adult Fiction - RomanceFIC ROMANCE BRADFORD iBookBooks1falsefalseOn Shelfbr
ils:10795151679388Wright Farms - Adult Fiction - RomanceFIC ROMANCE BRADFORD iBookBooks1falsefalseOn Shelfwf
overdrive:80afcdbb-d021-47da-9135-4b74fe940723-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
last_indexed2020-01-19T10:12:41.586Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFIC ROMANCE BRADFORD i
owning_library_catalogAll Anythink Libraries
owning_location_catalogBrighton
Wright Farms
primary_isbn9780345548160
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:1079515BookBooksBallantine mass market edition.EnglishBallantine Books, 2016.374 pages ; 18 cm.
overdrive:80afcdbb-d021-47da-9135-4b74fe940723eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2016
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:10795151679389On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:10795151679388On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:80afcdbb-d021-47da-9135-4b74fe940723-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
seriesBreconridge Brothers trilogy
series_with_volumeBreconridge Brothers trilogy|3
subject_facetActresses -- Fiction
FICTION / Romance / Historical / General
Love stories
Nobility -- Fiction
Regency fiction
title_displayA reckless desire
title_fullA Reckless Desire
A reckless desire / Isabella Bradford
title_shortA reckless desire
topic_facetActresses
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Nobility
Romance