Curbside services are now available at all Anythink locations during special hours. Our bookdrops are open, and due dates have been extended to June 30. All returned materials are quarantined for 72 hours so they may not appear checked-in on your account right away.

Elizabeth the Queen: The Life of a Modern Monarch

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Pub. Date:
2012
Language:
English
Description
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
  • Perfect for fans of The Crown, this magisterial biography of Queen Elizabeth II is a close-up view of the woman we've known only from a distance—and a captivating window into the last great monarchy.From the moment of her ascension to the throne in 1952 at the age of twenty-five, Queen Elizabeth II has been the object of unparalleled scrutiny. But through the fog of glamour and gossip, how well do we really know the world's most famous monarch? Drawing on numerous interviews and never-before-revealed documents, acclaimed biographer Sally Bedell Smith pulls back the curtain to show in intimate detail the public and private lives of Queen Elizabeth II, who has led her country and Commonwealth through the wars and upheavals of the last sixty years with unparalleled composure, intelligence, and grace. In Elizabeth the Queen, we meet the young girl who suddenly becomes "heiress presumptive" when her uncle abdicates the throne. We meet the thirteen-year-old Lilibet as she falls in love with a young navy cadet named Philip and becomes determined to marry him, even though her parents prefer wealthier English aristocrats. We see the teenage Lilibet repairing army trucks during World War II and standing with Winston Churchill on the balcony of Buckingham Palace on V-E Day. We see the young Queen struggling to balance the demands of her job with her role as the mother of two young children. Sally Bedell Smith brings us inside the palace doors and into the Queen's daily routines—the "red boxes" of documents she reviews each day, the weekly meetings she has had with twelve prime ministers, her physically demanding tours abroad, and the constant scrutiny of the press—as well as her personal relationships: with Prince Philip, her husband of sixty-four years and the love of her life; her children and their often-disastrous marriages; her grandchildren and friends.Praise for Elizabeth the Queen"An excellent, all-embracing new biography."The New York Times"[An] imposing, yet nimbly written, biography [that] dwarfs the field . . . a most satisfying and enjoyable read, one to be savored at length."—Minneapolis Star Tribune"Fascinating . . . After sixty years on the throne, the monarch of Britain is better known for her poker face than for sly wit or easy charm. Yet in biographer Sally Bedell Smith's Elizabeth the Queen, Her Majesty sparkles with both."More"[A] smart and satisfying book."Los Angeles Times
  • Also in This Series
    More Like This
    More Copies In Prospector
    Loading Prospector Copies...
    More Details
    ISBN:
    9780679643937
    Reviews from GoodReads
    Loading GoodReads Reviews.
    Staff View

    Grouping Information

    Grouped Work ID9ec7eaff-0222-af8e-4eb8-444a40ddfa49
    Grouping Titleelizabeth the queen the life of a modern monarch
    Grouping Authorsmith sally bedell
    Grouping Categorybook
    Last Grouping Update2020-06-03 01:47:50AM
    Last Indexed2020-06-03 03:31:03AM

    Solr Details

    accelerated_reader_point_value0
    accelerated_reader_reading_level0
    authorSally Bedell Smith
    author_displaySally Bedell Smith
    display_descriptionNEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
  • Perfect for fans of The Crown, this magisterial biography of Queen Elizabeth II is a close-up view of the woman we've known only from a distance—and a captivating window into the last great monarchy.

    From the moment of her ascension to the throne in 1952 at the age of twenty-five, Queen Elizabeth II has been the object of unparalleled scrutiny. But through the fog of glamour and gossip, how well do we really know the world's most famous monarch? Drawing on numerous interviews and never-before-revealed documents, acclaimed biographer Sally Bedell Smith pulls back the curtain to show in intimate detail the public and private lives of Queen Elizabeth II, who has led her country and Commonwealth through the wars and upheavals of the last sixty years with unparalleled composure, intelligence, and grace.

    In Elizabeth the Queen, we meet the young girl who suddenly becomes "heiress presumptive" when her uncle abdicates the throne. We meet the thirteen-year-old Lilibet as she falls in love with a young navy cadet named Philip and becomes determined to marry him, even though her parents prefer wealthier English aristocrats. We see the teenage Lilibet repairing army trucks during World War II and standing with Winston Churchill on the balcony of Buckingham Palace on V-E Day. We see the young Queen struggling to balance the demands of her job with her role as the mother of two young children. Sally Bedell Smith brings us inside the palace doors and into the Queen's daily routines—the "red boxes" of documents she reviews each day, the weekly meetings she has had with twelve prime ministers, her physically demanding tours abroad, and the constant scrutiny of the press—as well as her personal relationships: with Prince Philip, her husband of sixty-four years and the love of her life; her children and their often-disastrous marriages; her grandchildren and friends.
    Praise for Elizabeth the Queen
    "An excellent, all-embracing new biography."The New York Times
    "[An] imposing, yet nimbly written, biography [that] dwarfs the field . . . a most satisfying and enjoyable read, one to be savored at length."—Minneapolis Star Tribune
    "Fascinating . . . After sixty years on the throne, the monarch of Britain is better known for her poker face than for sly wit or easy charm. Yet in biographer Sally Bedell Smith's Elizabeth the Queen, Her Majesty sparkles with both."More
    "[A] smart and satisfying book."Los Angeles Times
  • format_catalogeBook
    format_category_catalogeBook
    id9ec7eaff-0222-af8e-4eb8-444a40ddfa49
    isbn9780679643937
    item_details
    Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
    overdrive:a9c9da12-b549-4409-85bd-3ee1de867d43-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
    last_indexed2020-06-03T09:31:03.374Z
    lexile_score-1
    literary_formNon Fiction
    literary_form_fullNon Fiction
    primary_isbn9780679643937
    publishDate2012
    record_details
    Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
    overdrive:a9c9da12-b549-4409-85bd-3ee1de867d43eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2012
    recordtypegrouped_work
    scoping_details_catalog
    Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
    overdrive:a9c9da12-b549-4409-85bd-3ee1de867d43-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
    title_displayElizabeth the Queen The Life of a Modern Monarch
    title_fullElizabeth the Queen The Life of a Modern Monarch
    title_shortElizabeth the Queen
    title_subThe Life of a Modern Monarch
    topic_facetBiography & Autobiography
    History
    Nonfiction