Elizabeth the Queen: The Life of a Modern Monarch

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
  • Perfect for fans of The Crown, this magisterial biography of Queen Elizabeth II is a close-up view of the woman we've known only from a distance—and a captivating window into the last great monarchy.From the moment of her ascension to the throne in 1952 at the age of twenty-five, Queen Elizabeth II has been the object of unparalleled scrutiny. But through the fog of glamour and gossip, how well do we really know the world's most famous monarch? Drawing on numerous interviews and never-before-revealed documents, acclaimed biographer Sally Bedell Smith pulls back the curtain to show in intimate detail the public and private lives of Queen Elizabeth II, who has led her country and Commonwealth through the wars and upheavals of the last sixty years with unparalleled composure, intelligence, and grace. In Elizabeth the Queen, we meet the young girl who suddenly becomes "heiress presumptive" when her uncle abdicates the throne. We meet the thirteen-year-old Lilibet as she falls in love with a young navy cadet named Philip and becomes determined to marry him, even though her parents prefer wealthier English aristocrats. We see the teenage Lilibet repairing army trucks during World War II and standing with Winston Churchill on the balcony of Buckingham Palace on V-E Day. We see the young Queen struggling to balance the demands of her job with her role as the mother of two young children. Sally Bedell Smith brings us inside the palace doors and into the Queen's daily routines—the "red boxes" of documents she reviews each day, the weekly meetings she has had with twelve prime ministers, her physically demanding tours abroad, and the constant scrutiny of the press—as well as her personal relationships: with Prince Philip, her husband of sixty-four years and the love of her life; her children and their often-disastrous marriages; her grandchildren and friends.Praise for Elizabeth the Queen"An excellent, all-embracing new biography."The New York Times"[An] imposing, yet nimbly written, biography [that] dwarfs the field . . . a most satisfying and enjoyable read, one to be savored at length."—Minneapolis Star Tribune"Fascinating . . . After sixty years on the throne, the monarch of Britain is better known for her poker face than for sly wit or easy charm. Yet in biographer Sally Bedell Smith's Elizabeth the Queen, Her Majesty sparkles with both."More"[A] smart and satisfying book."Los Angeles Times
  • Also in This Series
    More Like This
    More Copies In Prospector
    Loading Prospector Copies...
    More Details
    Contributors:
    ISBN:
    9780307934178
    9780679643937
    Reviews from GoodReads
    Loading GoodReads Reviews.
    Staff View

    Grouping Information

    Grouped Work ID 9ec7eaff-0222-af8e-4eb8-444a40ddfa49
    Grouping Title elizabeth the queen the life of a modern monarch
    Grouping Author smith sally bedell
    Grouping Category book
    Last Grouping Update 2018-11-16 01:46:10AM
    Last Indexed 2018-11-16 02:43:39AM

    Solr Details

    accelerated_reader_interest_level
    accelerated_reader_point_value 0
    accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
    auth_author2 Landor, Rosalyn.
    author Smith, Sally Bedell, 1948-
    author2-role Landor, Rosalyn.|Narrator
    author_display Sally Bedell Smith
    available_at_catalog In Motion Bookmobile
    detailed_location_catalog In Motion Bookmobile - Adult CD Audiobooks - Nonfiction
    display_description NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
  • Perfect for fans of The Crown, this magisterial biography of Queen Elizabeth II is a close-up view of the woman we've known only from a distance—and a captivating window into the last great monarchy.

    From the moment of her ascension to the throne in 1952 at the age of twenty-five, Queen Elizabeth II has been the object of unparalleled scrutiny. But through the fog of glamour and gossip, how well do we really know the world's most famous monarch? Drawing on numerous interviews and never-before-revealed documents, acclaimed biographer Sally Bedell Smith pulls back the curtain to show in intimate detail the public and private lives of Queen Elizabeth II, who has led her country and Commonwealth through the wars and upheavals of the last sixty years with unparalleled composure, intelligence, and grace.

    In Elizabeth the Queen, we meet the young girl who suddenly becomes "heiress presumptive" when her uncle abdicates the throne. We meet the thirteen-year-old Lilibet as she falls in love with a young navy cadet named Philip and becomes determined to marry him, even though her parents prefer wealthier English aristocrats. We see the teenage Lilibet repairing army trucks during World War II and standing with Winston Churchill on the balcony of Buckingham Palace on V-E Day. We see the young Queen struggling to balance the demands of her job with her role as the mother of two young children. Sally Bedell Smith brings us inside the palace doors and into the Queen's daily routines—the "red boxes" of documents she reviews each day, the weekly meetings she has had with twelve prime ministers, her physically demanding tours abroad, and the constant scrutiny of the press—as well as her personal relationships: with Prince Philip, her husband of sixty-four years and the love of her life; her children and their often-disastrous marriages; her grandchildren and friends.
    Praise for Elizabeth the Queen
    "An excellent, all-embracing new biography."The New York Times
    "[An] imposing, yet nimbly written, biography [that] dwarfs the field . . . a most satisfying and enjoyable read, one to be savored at length."—Minneapolis Star Tribune
    "Fascinating . . . After sixty years on the throne, the monarch of Britain is better known for her poker face than for sly wit or easy charm. Yet in biographer Sally Bedell Smith's Elizabeth the Queen, Her Majesty sparkles with both."More
    "[A] smart and satisfying book."Los Angeles Times
  • format_catalog Audio Book, eBook
    format_category_catalog Audio Books, eBook
    id 9ec7eaff-0222-af8e-4eb8-444a40ddfa49
    isbn 9780307934178, 9780679643937
    item_details ils:872113|1150189|In Motion Bookmobile - Adult CD Audiobooks - Nonfiction|CD BIOGRAPH ELIZABETH i|Audio Book|Audio Books|1|false|false|||||On Shelf||ext||, overdrive:a9c9da12-b549-4409-85bd-3ee1de867d43|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
    itype_catalog
    last_indexed 2018-11-16T09:43:39.646Z
    lexile_score -1
    literary_form Non Fiction
    literary_form_full Non Fiction
    local_callnumber_catalog CD BIOGRAPH ELIZABETH i
    owning_library_catalog All Anythink Libraries
    owning_location_catalog In Motion Bookmobile
    primary_isbn 9780307934178
    publishDate 2012
    record_details ils:872113|Audio Book|Audio Books||English|Random House Audio,|p2012.|17 sound discs (21 1/2 hr.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in., overdrive:a9c9da12-b549-4409-85bd-3ee1de867d43|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2012|
    recordtype grouped_work
    scoping_details_catalog
    Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
    overdrive:a9c9da12-b549-4409-85bd-3ee1de867d43 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
    ils:872113 1150189 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
    subject_facet Audiobooks, BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Royalty, Elizabeth -- II, -- Queen of Great Britain, -- 1926-, Great Britain -- History -- Elizabeth II, 1952-, Heads of state, Kings, queens, rulers, etc. -- Great Britain -- Biography, Queens -- Great Britain -- Biography
    title_display Elizabeth the Queen
    title_full Elizabeth the Queen The Life of a Modern Monarch, Elizabeth the Queen [sound recording] : the life of a modern monarch / Sally Bedell Smith
    title_short Elizabeth the Queen
    title_sub The Life of a Modern Monarch
    topic_facet Biography & Autobiography, Elizabeth, Heads of state, History, Kings, queens, rulers, etc, Nonfiction, Queens