The girl who fell from the sky: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

This debut novel tells the story of Rachel, the daughter of a Danish mother and a black G.I. who becomes the sole survivor of a family tragedy.

With her strict African American grandmother as her new guardian, Rachel moves to a mostly black community, where her light brown skin, blue eyes, and beauty bring mixed attention her way. Growing up in the 1980s, she learns to swallow her overwhelming grief and confronts her identity as a biracial young woman in a world that wants to see her as either black or white.

In the tradition of Jamaica Kincaid's Annie John and Toni Morrison's The Bluest Eye, here is a portrait of a young girl— and society's ideas of race, class, and beauty. It is the winner of the Bellwether Prize for best fiction manuscript addressing issues of social justice.

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID c0fbd0b2-6e8d-d02f-3be4-7b734b374ecc
full_title girl who fell from the sky
author durrow heidi w
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-12-16 02:13:42AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Bauer, Emily., McInerney, Kathleen (Actress), McInerney, Kathleen, actress., Murray, Karen, narrator., Murray, Karen.
author Heidi W. Durrow
author2-role Bauer, Emily., Bauer, Emily.|Narrator, Findaway World, LLC., HighBridge Audio (Firm), McInerney, Kathleen(Actress), McInerney, Kathleen,actress.|Narrator, Murray, Karen,narrator.|Narrator, Murray, Karen., Playaway Digital Audio., TBXdistributor, TotalBooxdistributor, hoopla digital.
author_display Durrow, Heidi W
available_at_catalog Perl Mack, Wright Farms
detailed_location_catalog Perl Mack - Adult Playaways - Fiction, Wright Farms - Adult Fiction
display_description

This debut novel tells the story of Rachel, the daughter of a Danish mother and a black G.I. who becomes the sole survivor of a family tragedy.

With her strict African American grandmother as her new guardian, Rachel moves to a mostly black community, where her light brown skin, blue eyes, and beauty bring mixed attention her way. Growing up in the 1980s, she learns to swallow her overwhelming grief and confronts her identity as a biracial young woman in a world that wants to see her as either black or white.

In the tradition of Jamaica Kincaid's Annie John and Toni Morrison's The Bluest Eye, here is a portrait of a young girl— and society's ideas of race, class, and beauty. It is the winner of the Bellwether Prize for best fiction manuscript addressing issues of social justice.

format_catalog Book, Playaway, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id c0fbd0b2-6e8d-d02f-3be4-7b734b374ecc
isbn 9781565126800, 9781565129627, 9781598879377, 9781616200374, 9781616576158
item_details Total Boox:2080611006084945416|2080611006084945416|Total Boox|Online Total Boox|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|Total Boox||http://cdn.totalboox.com/static/covers/WM/1cdfd0afbd761608-b.jpg||Available Online||Total Boox||, hoopla:MWT11419427||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11419427||Available Online||||, hoopla:MWT11688106||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11688106||Available Online||||, ils:747102|757999|Wright Farms - Adult Fiction|FIC DURROW i|Book|Books|1|false|false|||||On Shelf||wf||, ils:799702|932323|Perl Mack - Adult Playaways - Fiction|PLAYAWAY FIC DURROW i|Playaway|Audio Books|1|false|false|||||On Shelf||pm||, overdrive:21fb98a2-7a66-4106-b9d8-7aa517328a27|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Checked Out||||
itype_catalog
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog FIC DURROW i, PLAYAWAY FIC DURROW i
owning_library_catalog All Anythink Libraries
owning_location_catalog Perl Mack, Wright Farms
primary_isbn 9781565126800
publishDate 2009, 2010, 2011
record_details Total Boox:2080611006084945416|eBook|eBook||English|Algonquin Books|2011|1 online resource., hoopla:MWT11419427|eAudiobook|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books ,|2009.|1 online resource (1 audio file (420 min.)) : digital., hoopla:MWT11688106|eBook|eBook||English|Algonquin Books,|2011.|1 online resource, ils:747102|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill,|2010.|264 p. ; 22 cm., ils:799702|Playaway|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Playaway Digital Audio :|[2010], p2009.|1 sound media player (7 hr.) : digital ; 3 3/8 x 2 1/8 in., overdrive:21fb98a2-7a66-4106-b9d8-7aa517328a27|eBook|eBook||English|Algonquin Books|2010|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog hoopla:MWT11419427||Available Online|Available Online|false|true|false|false|false|false||||, hoopla:MWT11688106||Available Online|Available Online|false|true|false|false|false|false||||, ils:747102|757999|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:799702|932323|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:21fb98a2-7a66-4106-b9d8-7aa517328a27|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Audiobooks, Bildungsromans, Electronic books, FICTION / Cultural Heritage, FICTION / Family Life, General Fiction, Identity (Psychology) -- Fiction, Identity -- Fiction, Intergenerational relations -- Fiction, Racially mixed children -- Fiction
title_display The girl who fell from the sky : a novel
title_full The Girl Who Fell from the Sky, The Girl Who Fell from the Sky [eBook] Durrow, Heidi W., The girl who fell from the sky : a novel / by Heidi W. Durrow, The girl who fell from the sky : a novel [electronic resource] / Heidi W. Durrow, The girl who fell from the sky : a novel [electronic resource] Durrow, Heidi W., 1969-, The girl who fell from the sky [electronic resource] : a novel / Heidi W. Durrow
title_short The girl who fell from the sky :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Electronic books, Fiction, Identity, Identity (Psychology), Intergenerational relations, Literature, Racially mixed children