Important updates: Due to limited resources, the number of customer checkouts on hoopla digital will be reduced to 7 per month per person beginning April 1. Additionally, the “Recommend to library” function in Overdrive is now only available for use once daily. You can still go to the library’s Request It page to make your requests.

The girl who fell from the sky: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

This debut novel tells the story of Rachel, the daughter of a Danish mother and a black G.I. who becomes the sole survivor of a family tragedy.

With her strict African American grandmother as her new guardian, Rachel moves to a mostly black community, where her light brown skin, blue eyes, and beauty bring mixed attention her way. Growing up in the 1980s, she learns to swallow her overwhelming grief and confronts her identity as a biracial young woman in a world that wants to see her as either black or white.

In the tradition of Jamaica Kincaid's Annie John and Toni Morrison's The Bluest Eye, here is a portrait of a young girl— and society's ideas of race, class, and beauty. It is the winner of the Bellwether Prize for best fiction manuscript addressing issues of social justice.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781565126800
9781616200374
9781565129627
9781598879377
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID c0fbd0b2-6e8d-d02f-3be4-7b734b374ecc
Grouping Title girl who fell from the sky
Grouping Author durrow heidi w
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-07-18 01:43:58AM
Last Indexed 2019-07-17 03:07:01AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Bauer, Emily., McInerney, Kathleen (Actress), Murray, Karen.
author Durrow, Heidi W., 1969-
author2-role Bauer, Emily., McInerney, Kathleen(Actress), Murray, Karen., hoopla digital.
author_display Durrow, Heidi W
available_at_catalog Huron Street
detailed_location_catalog Huron Street - Adult Fiction
display_description

This debut novel tells the story of Rachel, the daughter of a Danish mother and a black G.I. who becomes the sole survivor of a family tragedy.

With her strict African American grandmother as her new guardian, Rachel moves to a mostly black community, where her light brown skin, blue eyes, and beauty bring mixed attention her way. Growing up in the 1980s, she learns to swallow her overwhelming grief and confronts her identity as a biracial young woman in a world that wants to see her as either black or white.

In the tradition of Jamaica Kincaid's Annie John and Toni Morrison's The Bluest Eye, here is a portrait of a young girl— and society's ideas of race, class, and beauty. It is the winner of the Bellwether Prize for best fiction manuscript addressing issues of social justice.

format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id c0fbd0b2-6e8d-d02f-3be4-7b734b374ecc
isbn 9781565126800, 9781565129627, 9781598879377, 9781616200374
item_details hoopla:MWT11419427||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11419427||Available Online||||, hoopla:MWT11688106||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11688106||Available Online||||, ils:747102|757999|Huron Street - Adult Fiction|FIC DURROW i|Book|Books|1|false|false|||||On Shelf||ng||, overdrive:21fb98a2-7a66-4106-b9d8-7aa517328a27|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog
last_indexed 2019-07-17T09:07:01.485Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog FIC DURROW i
owning_library_catalog All Anythink Libraries
owning_location_catalog Huron Street
primary_isbn 9781565126800
publishDate 2009, 2010, 2011
record_details hoopla:MWT11419427|eAudiobook|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books ,|2009.|1 online resource (1 audio file (420 min.)) : digital., hoopla:MWT11688106|eBook|eBook||English|Algonquin Books,|2011.|1 online resource, ils:747102|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill,|2010.|264 p. ; 22 cm., overdrive:21fb98a2-7a66-4106-b9d8-7aa517328a27|eBook|eBook||English|Algonquin Books|2010|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:21fb98a2-7a66-4106-b9d8-7aa517328a27 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:747102 757999 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
hoopla:MWT11419427 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
hoopla:MWT11688106 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
subject_facet Bildungsromans, Electronic books, FICTION / Cultural Heritage, FICTION / Family Life, Identity (Psychology) -- Fiction, Intergenerational relations -- Fiction, Racially mixed children -- Fiction
title_display The girl who fell from the sky : a novel
title_full The Girl Who Fell from the Sky, The girl who fell from the sky : a novel / by Heidi W. Durrow, The girl who fell from the sky : a novel [electronic resource] / Heidi W. Durrow, The girl who fell from the sky : a novel [electronic resource] Durrow, Heidi W., 1969-
title_short The girl who fell from the sky :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Electronic books, Fiction, Identity (Psychology), Intergenerational relations, Literature, Racially mixed children