Friendship Bread: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of Kate Jacobs and Lolly Winston comes a deeply felt, utterly charming novel of three newfound friends and the unexpected gift that will change their lives. In the quiet community of Avalon, Illinois, Julia Evarts wonders how to move on with her life. Though her husband and five-year-old daughter give her an abundance of love, Julia still reels from a tragedy that has left her estranged from the sister who was once her best friend. Meanwhile, across town, widow Madeleine Davis takes great pleasure in serving up delectable treats and cozy comforts at her tea salon—now, if only she had some customers to enjoy them. And famed concert cellist and recent Avalon transplant Hannah de Brisay finds herself at a crossroads when her career and marriage come to abrupt ends. The three strangers forge a friendship at Madeleine's Tea Shop, and soon their camaraderie extends to everyone in Avalon in the guise of a unique and wonderful gift. But even as Julia becomes ever closer to her new friends, she realizes the profound necessity of confronting the painful past she shares with her sister. Life and loss, friendship and community, food and family: Friendship Bread tells a spirited, remarkably moving tale about the triumph of hope. Praise for Friendship Bread"The novel traces the effect of the friendship bread on a small town, jumping from neighbor to neighbor, but focuses on a small group of women whose lives need mending...Gee admirably weaves the various lives together...and demonstrates that simple companionship is a powerful balm...A satisfying first novel by Gee; perfect for the book-club circuit and beyond."Kirkus Reviews"This entertaining series debut by Gee (who also writes as Mia King) will appeal to fans of tearjerkers like Kristin Hannah's Winter Garden or novels dealing with the loss of a family member, such as Lolly Winston's Good Grief. It's also ideal for book clubs and readers who like stories about small-town life; it expertly weaves together numerous characters and narratives and even includes recipes and directions for making friendship bread."Library Journal"Deliciously entertaining! You'll root all the way as these characters stumble toward forgiveness, understanding, and, ultimately, celebration. A perfect book club selection, Friendship Bread is a treat worth sharing with all the women in your life."—Kate Jacobs, New York Times bestselling author of The Friday Night Knitting Club
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
Linari, Nancy. Narrator
ISBN:
9780307914422
9780345525369
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDc14b72fa-caaa-280e-2ff2-c442de19da17
Grouping Titlefriendship bread
Grouping Authorgee darien
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-12-14 01:42:26AM
Last Indexed2019-12-14 03:22:35AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Linari, Nancy.
authorDarien Gee
author2-roleLinari, Nancy.|Narrator
author_displayDarien Gee
detailed_location_catalogCommerce City - Adult CD Audiobooks - Fiction
display_descriptionIn the tradition of Kate Jacobs and Lolly Winston comes a deeply felt, utterly charming novel of three newfound friends and the unexpected gift that will change their lives.

In the quiet community of Avalon, Illinois, Julia Evarts wonders how to move on with her life. Though her husband and five-year-old daughter give her an abundance of love, Julia still reels from a tragedy that has left her estranged from the sister who was once her best friend. Meanwhile, across town, widow Madeleine Davis takes great pleasure in serving up delectable treats and cozy comforts at her tea salon—now, if only she had some customers to enjoy them. And famed concert cellist and recent Avalon transplant Hannah de Brisay finds herself at a crossroads when her career and marriage come to abrupt ends. The three strangers forge a friendship at Madeleine's Tea Shop, and soon their camaraderie extends to everyone in Avalon in the guise of a unique and wonderful gift. But even as Julia becomes ever closer to her new friends, she realizes the profound necessity of confronting the painful past she shares with her sister.

Life and loss, friendship and community, food and family: Friendship Bread tells a spirited, remarkably moving tale about the triumph of hope.

Praise for Friendship Bread
"The novel traces the effect of the friendship bread on a small town, jumping from neighbor to neighbor, but focuses on a small group of women whose lives need mending...Gee admirably weaves the various lives together...and demonstrates that simple companionship is a powerful balm...A satisfying first novel by Gee; perfect for the book-club circuit and beyond."Kirkus Reviews
"This entertaining series debut by Gee (who also writes as Mia King) will appeal to fans of tearjerkers like Kristin Hannah's Winter Garden or novels dealing with the loss of a family member, such as Lolly Winston's Good Grief. It's also ideal for book clubs and readers who like stories about small-town life; it expertly weaves together numerous characters and narratives and even includes recipes and directions for making friendship bread."Library Journal
"Deliciously entertaining! You'll root all the way as these characters stumble toward forgiveness, understanding, and, ultimately, celebration. A perfect book club selection, Friendship Bread is a treat worth sharing with all the women in your life."—Kate Jacobs, New York Times bestselling author of The Friday Night Knitting Club

format_catalogAudio Book
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
eBook
idc14b72fa-caaa-280e-2ff2-c442de19da17
isbn9780307914422
9780345525369
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:8359811048700Commerce City - Adult CD Audiobooks - FictionCD FIC GEE tAudio BookAudio Books1falsefalseIn Catalogingcc
overdrive:e30e9e83-f0aa-446a-88af-38f6a266648d-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
last_indexed2019-12-14T10:22:35.171Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogCD FIC GEE t
owning_library_catalogAll Anythink Libraries
owning_location_catalogCommerce City
primary_isbn9780307914422
publishDate2011
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:835981Audio BookAudio BooksEnglishRandom House Audio, [2011]10 audio discs (13 hr.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
overdrive:e30e9e83-f0aa-446a-88af-38f6a266648deBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2011
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:8359811048700Coming SoonIn Catalogingfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:e30e9e83-f0aa-446a-88af-38f6a266648d-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetAudiobooks
FICTION / Contemporary Women
Female friendship -- Fiction
Sisters -- Fiction
title_displayFriendship Bread A Novel
title_fullFRIENDSHIP BREAD : [sound recording] a novel / Darien Gee
Friendship Bread A Novel
title_shortFriendship Bread
title_subA Novel
topic_facetFemale friendship
Fiction
Literature
Sisters