Friendship Bread: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of Kate Jacobs and Lolly Winston comes a deeply felt, utterly charming novel of three newfound friends and the unexpected gift that will change their lives. In the quiet community of Avalon, Illinois, Julia Evarts wonders how to move on with her life. Though her husband and five-year-old daughter give her an abundance of love, Julia still reels from a tragedy that has left her estranged from the sister who was once her best friend. Meanwhile, across town, widow Madeleine Davis takes great pleasure in serving up delectable treats and cozy comforts at her tea salon—now, if only she had some customers to enjoy them. And famed concert cellist and recent Avalon transplant Hannah de Brisay finds herself at a crossroads when her career and marriage come to abrupt ends. The three strangers forge a friendship at Madeleine's Tea Shop, and soon their camaraderie extends to everyone in Avalon in the guise of a unique and wonderful gift. But even as Julia becomes ever closer to her new friends, she realizes the profound necessity of confronting the painful past she shares with her sister. Life and loss, friendship and community, food and family: Friendship Bread tells a spirited, remarkably moving tale about the triumph of hope. Praise for Friendship Bread"The novel traces the effect of the friendship bread on a small town, jumping from neighbor to neighbor, but focuses on a small group of women whose lives need mending...Gee admirably weaves the various lives together...and demonstrates that simple companionship is a powerful balm...A satisfying first novel by Gee; perfect for the book-club circuit and beyond."Kirkus Reviews"This entertaining series debut by Gee (who also writes as Mia King) will appeal to fans of tearjerkers like Kristin Hannah's Winter Garden or novels dealing with the loss of a family member, such as Lolly Winston's Good Grief. It's also ideal for book clubs and readers who like stories about small-town life; it expertly weaves together numerous characters and narratives and even includes recipes and directions for making friendship bread."Library Journal"Deliciously entertaining! You'll root all the way as these characters stumble toward forgiveness, understanding, and, ultimately, celebration. A perfect book club selection, Friendship Bread is a treat worth sharing with all the women in your life."—Kate Jacobs, New York Times bestselling author of The Friday Night Knitting Club
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
Linari, Nancy. Narrator
ISBN:
9781611731149
9780345525369
9780307914422
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID c14b72fa-caaa-280e-2ff2-c442de19da17
Full title friendship bread
Author gee darien
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-06-23 02:08:35AM
Last Indexed 2018-06-22 02:14:05AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Linari, Nancy.
author Darien Gee
author2-role Linari, Nancy.|Narrator
author_display Darien Gee
available_at_catalog Brighton, Perl Mack, Wright Farms
detailed_location_catalog Brighton - Adult CD Audiobooks - Fiction, Perl Mack - Large Print - Fiction, Wright Farms - Large Print - Fiction
display_description In the tradition of Kate Jacobs and Lolly Winston comes a deeply felt, utterly charming novel of three newfound friends and the unexpected gift that will change their lives.

In the quiet community of Avalon, Illinois, Julia Evarts wonders how to move on with her life. Though her husband and five-year-old daughter give her an abundance of love, Julia still reels from a tragedy that has left her estranged from the sister who was once her best friend. Meanwhile, across town, widow Madeleine Davis takes great pleasure in serving up delectable treats and cozy comforts at her tea salon—now, if only she had some customers to enjoy them. And famed concert cellist and recent Avalon transplant Hannah de Brisay finds herself at a crossroads when her career and marriage come to abrupt ends. The three strangers forge a friendship at Madeleine's Tea Shop, and soon their camaraderie extends to everyone in Avalon in the guise of a unique and wonderful gift. But even as Julia becomes ever closer to her new friends, she realizes the profound necessity of confronting the painful past she shares with her sister.

Life and loss, friendship and community, food and family: Friendship Bread tells a spirited, remarkably moving tale about the triumph of hope.

Praise for Friendship Bread
"The novel traces the effect of the friendship bread on a small town, jumping from neighbor to neighbor, but focuses on a small group of women whose lives need mending...Gee admirably weaves the various lives together...and demonstrates that simple companionship is a powerful balm...A satisfying first novel by Gee; perfect for the book-club circuit and beyond."Kirkus Reviews
"This entertaining series debut by Gee (who also writes as Mia King) will appeal to fans of tearjerkers like Kristin Hannah's Winter Garden or novels dealing with the loss of a family member, such as Lolly Winston's Good Grief. It's also ideal for book clubs and readers who like stories about small-town life; it expertly weaves together numerous characters and narratives and even includes recipes and directions for making friendship bread."Library Journal
"Deliciously entertaining! You'll root all the way as these characters stumble toward forgiveness, understanding, and, ultimately, celebration. A perfect book club selection, Friendship Bread is a treat worth sharing with all the women in your life."—Kate Jacobs, New York Times bestselling author of The Friday Night Knitting Club

format_catalog Audio Book, Large Print, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Large Print, eBook
id c14b72fa-caaa-280e-2ff2-c442de19da17
isbn 9780307914422, 9780345525369, 9781611731149
item_details ils:835981|1048700|Brighton - Adult CD Audiobooks - Fiction|CD FIC GEE i|Audio Book|Audio Books|1|false|false|||||On Shelf||br||, ils:846215|1084203|Wright Farms - Large Print - Fiction|LP FIC GEE i|Large Print|Large Print|1|false|false|||||On Shelf||wf||, ils:846215|1084204|Perl Mack - Large Print - Fiction|LP FIC GEE i|Large Print|Large Print|1|false|false|||||On Shelf||pm||, overdrive:e30e9e83-f0aa-446a-88af-38f6a266648d|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog
last_indexed 2018-06-22T08:14:05.184Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog CD FIC GEE i, LP FIC GEE i
owning_library_catalog All Anythink Libraries
owning_location_catalog Brighton, Perl Mack, Wright Farms
primary_isbn 9781611731149
publishDate 2011
record_details ils:835981|Audio Book|Audio Books||English|Random House Audio,|p2011.|10 sound discs (13 hr.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in., ils:846215|Large Print|Large Print||English|Center Point Pub.,|2011.|551 p. (large print) ; 22 cm., overdrive:e30e9e83-f0aa-446a-88af-38f6a266648d|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2011|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:846215 1084203 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:846215 1084204 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:835981 1048700 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:e30e9e83-f0aa-446a-88af-38f6a266648d -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Audiobooks, Domestic fiction, FICTION / Contemporary Women, Female friendship -- Fiction, Large type books, Sisters -- Fiction
title_display Friendship Bread
title_full FRIENDSHIP BREAD [sound recording] : a novel / Darien Gee, Friendship Bread A Novel, Friendship bread [text (large print)] / Darien Gee
title_short Friendship Bread
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet Female friendship, Fiction, Large type books, Literature, Sisters