Stranger in the room: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Fresh from her debut, The Stranger You Seek—which Publishers Weekly called "an explosive, unpredictable, and psychologically complex thriller that turns crime fiction clichés inside out"—Amanda Kyle Williams delivers a second thrilling Keye Street novel, perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and Patricia Cornwell. That bullet was meant for you. Summer is smoldering through Atlanta on Fourth of July weekend, as fireworks crack through the air and steam rises from the pavement on Peachtree. Private investigator and ex–FBI profiler Keye Street wants nothing more than a couple of quiet days alone with her boyfriend, Aaron—but, as usual, murder gets in the way. I will find her. A.P.D. Lieutenant Aaron Rauser is called to the disturbing scene of the strangling death of a thirteen-year-old boy. Meanwhile, Keye must deal with not one but two of her own investigations: In the hills of Creeklaw County, there's a curious case involving chicken feed and a crematorium, and in Atlanta, Keye's emotionally fragile cousin Miki is convinced she is being stalked. Given Miki's history of drug abuse and mental problems, Keye is reluctant to accept her cousin's tale of a threatening man inside her house late one night. But as a recovering alcoholic herself, Keye can't exactly begrudge a woman her addictions—especially since Miki drives Keye to near-relapses at every turn. And yet, Miki is family, and Keye must help her—even if it means tempting her own demons. I always find her. All hell breaks loose when another murder—the apparent hanging of an elderly man—hits disturbingly close to home for Keye. And though the two victims have almost nothing in common, there are bizarre similarities between this case and that of Aaron's strangled teen. Is there a single faceless predator, a calculating murderer targeting his prey at random? Only a skilled profiler like Keye Street can help the A.P.D. find him. With the threat of more deaths to come, Keye works on pure instinct alone—and soon realizes that a killer is circling ever closer to the people she loves the most. Praise for Amanda Kyle Williams's The Stranger You Seek "An exceptionally smart and harrowing character-driven debut by a welcome new thriller writer."—New York Times bestselling author Karin Slaughter "A creepy, suspenseful, breathtaking ride . . . [Keye] Street is a unique and worthy addition to the rich tradition of damaged and tough private detectives."—Associated Press "[Williams] keeps the suspense taut and the humor snarky, with an ending that will have you slapping your foreheard over clues you missed."—The Atlanta Journal-Constitution "With its shocking triple-twist climax, this is the best private eye debut since Dennis Lehane's A Drink Before the War."—The Plain Dealer "An explosive, unpredictable, and psychologically complex thriller."—Publishers Weekly (starred review) "A dark, gritty thriller, The Stranger You Seek is a sensational debut. Readers will relish this story's many captivating, powerful, and compelling layers."—New York Times bestselling author Julia Spencer-FlemingFrom the Hardcover edition.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780553808087
9780307966902
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID e6c1b172-c62c-c38b-511f-9381b5706571
full_title stranger in the room
author williams amanda kyle
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-11-17 01:52:42AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Amanda Kyle Williams
author_display Williams, Amanda Kyle
available_at_catalog Huron Street
detailed_location_catalog Huron Street - Adult Fiction - Mystery
display_description Fresh from her debut, The Stranger You Seek—which Publishers Weekly called "an explosive, unpredictable, and psychologically complex thriller that turns crime fiction clichés inside out"—Amanda Kyle Williams delivers a second thrilling Keye Street novel, perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and Patricia Cornwell.

That bullet was meant for you.

Summer is smoldering through Atlanta on Fourth of July weekend, as fireworks crack through the air and steam rises from the pavement on Peachtree. Private investigator and ex–FBI profiler Keye Street wants nothing more than a couple of quiet days alone with her boyfriend, Aaron—but, as usual, murder gets in the way.

I will find her.

A.P.D. Lieutenant Aaron Rauser is called to the disturbing scene of the strangling death of a thirteen-year-old boy. Meanwhile, Keye must deal with not one but two of her own investigations: In the hills of Creeklaw County, there's a curious case involving chicken feed and a crematorium, and in Atlanta, Keye's emotionally fragile cousin Miki is convinced she is being stalked. Given Miki's history of drug abuse and mental problems, Keye is reluctant to accept her cousin's tale of a threatening man inside her house late one night. But as a recovering alcoholic herself, Keye can't exactly begrudge a woman her addictions—especially since Miki drives Keye to near-relapses at every turn. And yet, Miki is family, and Keye must help her—even if it means tempting her own demons.

I always find her.

All hell breaks loose when another murder—the apparent hanging of an elderly man—hits disturbingly close to home for Keye. And though the two victims have almost nothing in common, there are bizarre similarities between this case and that of Aaron's strangled teen. Is there a single faceless predator, a calculating murderer targeting his prey at random? Only a skilled profiler like Keye Street can help the A.P.D. find him. With the threat of more deaths to come, Keye works on pure instinct alone—and soon realizes that a killer is circling ever closer to the people she loves the most.

Praise for Amanda Kyle Williams's The Stranger You Seek

"An exceptionally smart and harrowing character-driven debut by a welcome new thriller writer."—New York Times bestselling author Karin Slaughter

"A creepy, suspenseful, breathtaking ride . . . [Keye] Street is a unique and worthy addition to the rich tradition of damaged and tough private detectives."—Associated Press

"[Williams] keeps the suspense taut and the humor snarky, with an ending that will have you slapping your foreheard over clues you missed."—The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

"With its shocking triple-twist climax, this is the best private eye debut since Dennis Lehane's A Drink Before the War."—The Plain Dealer

"An explosive, unpredictable, and psychologically complex thriller."—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"A dark, gritty thriller, The Stranger You Seek is a sensational debut. Readers will relish this story's many captivating, powerful, and compelling layers."—New York Times bestselling author Julia Spencer-Fleming
From the Hardcover edition.
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id e6c1b172-c62c-c38b-511f-9381b5706571
isbn 9780307966902, 9780553808087
item_details ils:889458|1194989|Huron Street - Adult Fiction - Mystery|FIC MYSTERY WILLIAMS i|Book|Books|1|false|false|||||On Shelf||ng||, overdrive:c8ad3fad-a44e-44d2-bb3f-5c13eb753acf|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_catalog
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog FIC MYSTERY WILLIAMS i
owning_library_catalog All Anythink Libraries
owning_location_catalog Huron Street
primary_isbn 9780553808087
publishDate 2012
record_details ils:889458|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|Bantam Books,|c2012.|308 p. ; 25 cm., overdrive:c8ad3fad-a44e-44d2-bb3f-5c13eb753acf|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2012|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:889458|1194989|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:c8ad3fad-a44e-44d2-bb3f-5c13eb753acf|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
series Keye Street
series_with_volume Keye Street
subject_facet FICTION / Mystery & Detective / General, FICTION / Thrillers / General, FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense, Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction, Mystery fiction, Private investigators -- Fiction, Suspense fiction
title_display Stranger in the room : a novel
title_full Stranger in the Room Keye Street Series, Book 2, Stranger in the room : a novel / Amanda Kyle Williams
title_short Stranger in the room :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Fiction, Investigation, Murder, Mystery, Private investigators, Suspense, Thriller