Shout her lovely name

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

Short stories that are "achingly true to life when it comes to the many ways mothers and daughters grow together and apart, over and over again" (O, The Oprah Magazine). "Mothers and daughters go at it in the way only mothers and daughters can, with full hearts and claws out, in Natalie Serber's funny, bittersweet collection" of short fiction named a New York Times Notable Book (Vanity Fair). In a battle between a teenager and her mother, wheat bread and plain yogurt become weapons. An aimless college student, married to her much older professor, sneaks cigarettes while caring for their newborn son. On the eve of her husband's fiftieth birthday, a pilfered fifth of rum, an unexpected tattoo, and rogue teenagers leave a woman questioning her place. And in a suite of stories, we follow capricious, ambitious single mother Ruby and her cautious, steadfast daughter, Nora, through their tumultuous life—stray men, stray cats, and psychedelic drugs—in 1970s California. "The characters are irresistible . . . Serber writes with exquisite patience and sensitivity, and is an expert in the many ways that love throws people together and splits them apart, often at the same time." —TheWall Street Journal "From its first page, Serber's debut collection plunges us into the humid heat and lightning of a perfect storm: that of American mothers and daughters struggling for power, love, meaning, and identity. . . . Serber's writing sparkles: practical, strong, brazenly modern, marbled with superb descriptions." —San Francisco Chronicle "Mothers and daughters burst from these pages in stories about food, boyfriends, birthdays, husbands and more." —Houston Chronicle "In the tradition of Lorrie Moore and Tobias Wolff, Natalie Serber's stories uncover the secret hearts of seemingly ordinary people. Funny, heart-felt, and keenly perceptive, this is a book worth shouting about." —Dan Chaon, author of If I Loved You I Would Tell You This

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780547634524
9780547634579
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID e8087755-6e16-1c8d-bece-869b2c7a9181
Grouping Title shout her lovely name
Grouping Author serber natalie
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-08-23 01:50:11AM
Last Indexed 2019-08-23 02:59:37AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Serber, Natalie.
author2-role hoopla digital.
author_display Serber, Natalie
available_at_catalog Brighton
detailed_location_catalog Brighton - Adult Fiction
display_description

Short stories that are "achingly true to life when it comes to the many ways mothers and daughters grow together and apart, over and over again" (O, The Oprah Magazine).

"Mothers and daughters go at it in the way only mothers and daughters can, with full hearts and claws out, in Natalie Serber's funny, bittersweet collection" of short fiction named a New York Times Notable Book (Vanity Fair).

In a battle between a teenager and her mother, wheat bread and plain yogurt become weapons. An aimless college student, married to her much older professor, sneaks cigarettes while caring for their newborn son. On the eve of her husband's fiftieth birthday, a pilfered fifth of rum, an unexpected tattoo, and rogue teenagers leave a woman questioning her place. And in a suite of stories, we follow capricious, ambitious single mother Ruby and her cautious, steadfast daughter, Nora, through their tumultuous life—stray men, stray cats, and psychedelic drugs—in 1970s California.

"The characters are irresistible . . . Serber writes with exquisite patience and sensitivity, and is an expert in the many ways that love throws people together and splits them apart, often at the same time." —TheWall Street Journal

"From its first page, Serber's debut collection plunges us into the humid heat and lightning of a perfect storm: that of American mothers and daughters struggling for power, love, meaning, and identity. . . . Serber's writing sparkles: practical, strong, brazenly modern, marbled with superb descriptions." —San Francisco Chronicle

"Mothers and daughters burst from these pages in stories about food, boyfriends, birthdays, husbands and more." —Houston Chronicle

"In the tradition of Lorrie Moore and Tobias Wolff, Natalie Serber's stories uncover the secret hearts of seemingly ordinary people. Funny, heart-felt, and keenly perceptive, this is a book worth shouting about." —Dan Chaon, author of If I Loved You I Would Tell You This

format_catalog Book
eBook
format_category_catalog Books
eBook
id e8087755-6e16-1c8d-bece-869b2c7a9181
isbn 9780547634524
9780547634579
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:64aa19a0-aba8-43f8-a942-ebeaec9ef8cd -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 1 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
ils:883308 1179657 Brighton - Adult Fiction FIC SERBER i Book Books 1 false false On Shelf br
hoopla:MWT12017923 Online Hoopla Collection Online Hoopla eBook eBook 1 false true Hoopla https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12017923 Available Online
hoopla:MWT12178157 Online Hoopla Collection Online Hoopla eBook eBook 1 false true Hoopla https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12178157 Available Online
itype_catalog
last_indexed 2019-08-23T08:59:37.94Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
Short Stories
local_callnumber_catalog FIC SERBER i
owning_library_catalog All Anythink Libraries
owning_location_catalog Brighton
primary_isbn 9780547634524
publishDate 2012
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:64aa19a0-aba8-43f8-a942-ebeaec9ef8cd eBook eBook English Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ils:883308 Book Books English Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2012. 226 pages ; 22 cm
hoopla:MWT12017923 eBook eBook English Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2012. 1 online resource
hoopla:MWT12178157 eBook eBook English Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2012. 1 online resource
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:64aa19a0-aba8-43f8-a942-ebeaec9ef8cd -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:883308 1179657 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
hoopla:MWT12017923 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
hoopla:MWT12178157 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
subject_facet Domestic fiction
Eating disorders -- Fiction
Electronic books
FICTION / Family Life
FICTION / Short Stories (single author)
Families -- Fiction
Mothers and daughters -- Fiction
Psychological fiction
title_display Shout her lovely name
title_full Shout Her Lovely Name
Shout her lovely name / Natalie Serber
Shout her lovely name [electronic resource] / Natalie Serber
title_short Shout her lovely name
title_sub
topic_facet Eating disorders
Electronic books
Families
Fiction
Literature
Mothers and daughters
Short Stories