Shout her lovely name

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

Short stories that are "achingly true to life when it comes to the many ways mothers and daughters grow together and apart, over and over again" (O, The Oprah Magazine). "Mothers and daughters go at it in the way only mothers and daughters can, with full hearts and claws out, in Natalie Serber's funny, bittersweet collection" of short fiction named a New York Times Notable Book (Vanity Fair). In a battle between a teenager and her mother, wheat bread and plain yogurt become weapons. An aimless college student, married to her much older professor, sneaks cigarettes while caring for their newborn son. On the eve of her husband's fiftieth birthday, a pilfered fifth of rum, an unexpected tattoo, and rogue teenagers leave a woman questioning her place. And in a suite of stories, we follow capricious, ambitious single mother Ruby and her cautious, steadfast daughter, Nora, through their tumultuous life—stray men, stray cats, and psychedelic drugs—in 1970s California. "The characters are irresistible . . . Serber writes with exquisite patience and sensitivity, and is an expert in the many ways that love throws people together and splits them apart, often at the same time." —TheWall Street Journal "From its first page, Serber's debut collection plunges us into the humid heat and lightning of a perfect storm: that of American mothers and daughters struggling for power, love, meaning, and identity. . . . Serber's writing sparkles: practical, strong, brazenly modern, marbled with superb descriptions." —San Francisco Chronicle "Mothers and daughters burst from these pages in stories about food, boyfriends, birthdays, husbands and more." —Houston Chronicle "In the tradition of Lorrie Moore and Tobias Wolff, Natalie Serber's stories uncover the secret hearts of seemingly ordinary people. Funny, heart-felt, and keenly perceptive, this is a book worth shouting about." —Dan Chaon, author of If I Loved You I Would Tell You This

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780547634524
9780547634579
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID e8087755-6e16-1c8d-bece-869b2c7a9181
Full title shout her lovely name
Author serber natalie
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-06-22 01:48:41AM
Last Indexed 2018-06-21 02:24:30AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Serber, Natalie.
author2-role hoopla digital.
author_display Serber, Natalie
available_at_catalog Brighton
detailed_location_catalog Brighton - Adult Fiction
display_description

Short stories that are "achingly true to life when it comes to the many ways mothers and daughters grow together and apart, over and over again" (O, The Oprah Magazine).

"Mothers and daughters go at it in the way only mothers and daughters can, with full hearts and claws out, in Natalie Serber's funny, bittersweet collection" of short fiction named a New York Times Notable Book (Vanity Fair).

In a battle between a teenager and her mother, wheat bread and plain yogurt become weapons. An aimless college student, married to her much older professor, sneaks cigarettes while caring for their newborn son. On the eve of her husband's fiftieth birthday, a pilfered fifth of rum, an unexpected tattoo, and rogue teenagers leave a woman questioning her place. And in a suite of stories, we follow capricious, ambitious single mother Ruby and her cautious, steadfast daughter, Nora, through their tumultuous life—stray men, stray cats, and psychedelic drugs—in 1970s California.

"The characters are irresistible . . . Serber writes with exquisite patience and sensitivity, and is an expert in the many ways that love throws people together and splits them apart, often at the same time." —TheWall Street Journal

"From its first page, Serber's debut collection plunges us into the humid heat and lightning of a perfect storm: that of American mothers and daughters struggling for power, love, meaning, and identity. . . . Serber's writing sparkles: practical, strong, brazenly modern, marbled with superb descriptions." —San Francisco Chronicle

"Mothers and daughters burst from these pages in stories about food, boyfriends, birthdays, husbands and more." —Houston Chronicle

"In the tradition of Lorrie Moore and Tobias Wolff, Natalie Serber's stories uncover the secret hearts of seemingly ordinary people. Funny, heart-felt, and keenly perceptive, this is a book worth shouting about." —Dan Chaon, author of If I Loved You I Would Tell You This

format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id e8087755-6e16-1c8d-bece-869b2c7a9181
isbn 9780547634524, 9780547634579
item_details hoopla:MWT12017923||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12017923||Available Online||||, ils:883308|1179657|Brighton - Adult Fiction|FIC SERBER i|Book|Books|1|false|false|||||On Shelf||br||, overdrive:64aa19a0-aba8-43f8-a942-ebeaec9ef8cd|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog
last_indexed 2018-06-21T08:24:30.98Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction, Short Stories
local_callnumber_catalog FIC SERBER i
owning_library_catalog All Anythink Libraries
owning_location_catalog Brighton
primary_isbn 9780547634524
publishDate 2012
record_details hoopla:MWT12017923|eBook|eBook||English|Houghton Mifflin Harcourt,|2012.|1 online resource, ils:883308|Book|Books||English|Houghton Mifflin Harcourt,|2012.|226 p. ; 22 cm., overdrive:64aa19a0-aba8-43f8-a942-ebeaec9ef8cd|eBook|eBook||English|Houghton Mifflin Harcourt||
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:64aa19a0-aba8-43f8-a942-ebeaec9ef8cd -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:883308 1179657 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
hoopla:MWT12017923 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
subject_facet Domestic fiction, Eating disorders -- Fiction, Electronic books, FICTION / Family Life, FICTION / Short Stories (single author), Families -- Fiction, Family -- Fiction, Mothers and daughters -- Fiction, Psychological fiction
title_display Shout her lovely name
title_full Shout Her Lovely Name, Shout her lovely name / Natalie Serber, Shout her lovely name [electronic resource] / Natalie Serber
title_short Shout her lovely name
title_sub
topic_facet Eating disorders, Electronic books, Families, Family, Fiction, Literature, Mothers and daughters, Short Stories