Empire of illusion: the end of literacy and the triumph of spectacle

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Tantor Audio,
Pub. Date:
2018.
Edition:
Unabridged.
Language:
English
Description
We now live in two Americas. One-now the minority-functions in a print-based, literate world that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other-the majority-is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. To this majority-which crosses social class lines, though the poor are overwhelmingly affected-presidential debate and political rhetoric is pitched at a sixth-grade reading level. In this "other America," serious film and theater, as well as newspapers and books, are being pushed to the margins of society. In the tradition of Christopher Lasch's The Culture of Narcissism and Neil Postman's Amusing Ourselves to Death, Pulitzer Prize winner Chris Hedges navigates this culture-attending WWF contests, the Adult Video News Awards in Las Vegas, and Ivy League graduation ceremonies-to expose an age of terrifying decline and heightened self-delusion.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781977329134
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID eaf43cf5-a44e-3694-5b60-f78289c57ad3
Grouping Title empire of illusion the end of literacy and the triumph of spectacle
Grouping Author hedges chris
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-05-02 02:05:15AM
Last Indexed 2018-07-22 03:56:26AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Yen, Jonathan.
author Hedges, Chris.
author2-role Yen, Jonathan., hoopla digital.
author_display Hedges, Chris
display_description We now live in two Americas. One-now the minority-functions in a print-based, literate world that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other-the majority-is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. To this majority-which crosses social class lines, though the poor are overwhelmingly affected-presidential debate and political rhetoric is pitched at a sixth-grade reading level. In this "other America," serious film and theater, as well as newspapers and books, are being pushed to the margins of society. In the tradition of Christopher Lasch's The Culture of Narcissism and Neil Postman's Amusing Ourselves to Death, Pulitzer Prize winner Chris Hedges navigates this culture-attending WWF contests, the Adult Video News Awards in Las Vegas, and Ivy League graduation ceremonies-to expose an age of terrifying decline and heightened self-delusion.
format_catalog eAudiobook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, eBook
id eaf43cf5-a44e-3694-5b60-f78289c57ad3
isbn 9781977329134
item_details hoopla:MWT12097285||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12097285||Available Online||||
itype_catalog
last_indexed 2018-07-22T09:56:26.5Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Unknown
literary_form_full Unknown
primary_isbn 9781977329134
publishDate 2018
record_details hoopla:MWT12097285|eAudiobook|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Tantor Audio,|2018.|1 online resource (1 audio file (9hr., 27 min.)) : digital.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT12097285 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
subject_facet Literacy -- United States, Mass media -- United States, Mass media and culture -- United States, Popular culture -- United States, United States -- Intellectual life
title_display Empire of illusion : the end of literacy and the triumph of spectacle
title_full Empire of illusion : the end of literacy and the triumph of spectacle [electronic resource] / Chris Hedges
title_short Empire of illusion :
title_sub the end of literacy and the triumph of spectacle
topic_facet Intellectual life, Literacy, Mass media, Mass media and culture, Popular culture