A thousand pardons: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY KIRKUS REVIEWSFor readers of Jonathan Franzen and Richard Russo, Jonathan Dee's novels are masterful works of literary fiction. In this sharply observed tale of self-invention and public scandal, Dee raises a trenchant question: what do we really want when we ask for forgiveness? Once a privileged and loving couple, the Armsteads have now reached a breaking point. Ben, a partner in a prestigious law firm, has become unpredictable at work and withdrawn at home—a change that weighs heavily on his wife, Helen, and their preteen daughter, Sara. Then, in one afternoon, Ben's recklessness takes an alarming turn, and everything the Armsteads have built together unravels, swiftly and spectacularly. Thrust back into the working world, Helen finds a job in public relations and relocates with Sara from their home in upstate New York to an apartment in Manhattan. There, Helen discovers she has a rare gift, indispensable in the world of image control: She can convince arrogant men to admit their mistakes, spinning crises into second chances. Yet redemption is more easily granted in her professional life than in her personal one. As she is confronted with the biggest case of her career, the fallout from her marriage, and Sara's increasingly distant behavior, Helen must face the limits of accountability and her own capacity for forgiveness.Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.Praise for A Thousand Pardons "A Thousand Pardons is that rare thing: a genuine literary thriller. Eerily suspenseful and packed with dramatic event, it also offers a trenchant, hilarious portrait of our collective longing for authenticity in these overmediated times."—Jennifer Egan, Pulitzer Prize–winning author of A Visit from the Goon Squad"Hugely enjoyable . . . Dee is a snappy, cinematic writer. . . . A Thousand Pardons moves fast. It's a mere 200 or so pages, and it packs a lot of turns of fate within there."The Boston Globe "Dee's gifts are often dazzling and his material meticulously shaped. . . . [He] articulates complex emotional dynamics with precision and insight."—The New York Times Book Review "Some stories begin with a bang. And some begin with a roaring fireball of truth. Jonathan Dee's latest novel belongs in the latter camp."—O: The Oprah Magazine "Dee bounds gracefully among Helen's, Ben's, and Sara's points of view as they try to reassemble their lives. Their stories feel honest, and the prose is beautiful."—Entertainment Weekly "A page turner . . . What a triumph."Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "Graceful prose and such a sharp understanding of human weakness that you'll wince as you laugh."—People "Propulsively readable."—The Millions "Dee continues to establish himself as an ironic observer of contemporary behavior. . . . The plot is energetic. . . . But most compelling is the acuteness of the details."—The AtlanticFrom the Trade Paperback edition.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780812993219
9781472107381
9780679645009
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID ef7c0560-af29-54b1-2ec5-b8fbb438a60f
full_title thousand pardons
author dee jonathan
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2018-04-25 01:45:16AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Dee, Jonathan.
author2-role TBXdistributor, TotalBooxdistributor
author_display Dee, Jonathan
available_at_catalog Wright Farms
detailed_location_catalog Wright Farms - Adult Fiction
display_description NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY KIRKUS REVIEWS
For readers of Jonathan Franzen and Richard Russo, Jonathan Dee's novels are masterful works of literary fiction. In this sharply observed tale of self-invention and public scandal, Dee raises a trenchant question: what do we really want when we ask for forgiveness?


Once a privileged and loving couple, the Armsteads have now reached a breaking point. Ben, a partner in a prestigious law firm, has become unpredictable at work and withdrawn at home—a change that weighs heavily on his wife, Helen, and their preteen daughter, Sara. Then, in one afternoon, Ben's recklessness takes an alarming turn, and everything the Armsteads have built together unravels, swiftly and spectacularly.

Thrust back into the working world, Helen finds a job in public relations and relocates with Sara from their home in upstate New York to an apartment in Manhattan. There, Helen discovers she has a rare gift, indispensable in the world of image control: She can convince arrogant men to admit their mistakes, spinning crises into second chances. Yet redemption is more easily granted in her professional life than in her personal one.

As she is confronted with the biggest case of her career, the fallout from her marriage, and Sara's increasingly distant behavior, Helen must face the limits of accountability and her own capacity for forgiveness.
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.
Praise for A Thousand Pardons

"A Thousand Pardons is that rare thing: a genuine literary thriller. Eerily suspenseful and packed with dramatic event, it also offers a trenchant, hilarious portrait of our collective longing for authenticity in these overmediated times."—Jennifer Egan, Pulitzer Prize–winning author of A Visit from the Goon Squad
"Hugely enjoyable . . . Dee is a snappy, cinematic writer. . . . A Thousand Pardons moves fast. It's a mere 200 or so pages, and it packs a lot of turns of fate within there."The Boston Globe

"Dee's gifts are often dazzling and his material meticulously shaped. . . . [He] articulates complex emotional dynamics with precision and insight."—The New York Times Book Review

"Some stories begin with a bang. And some begin with a roaring fireball of truth. Jonathan Dee's latest novel belongs in the latter camp."—O: The Oprah Magazine

"Dee bounds gracefully among Helen's, Ben's, and Sara's points of view as they try to reassemble their lives. Their stories feel honest, and the prose is beautiful."—Entertainment Weekly

"A page turner . . . What a triumph."Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Graceful prose and such a sharp understanding of human weakness that you'll wince as you laugh."—People

"Propulsively readable."—The Millions

"Dee continues to establish himself as an ironic observer of contemporary behavior. . . . The plot is energetic. . . . But most compelling is the acuteness of the details."—The Atlantic
From the Trade Paperback edition.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id ef7c0560-af29-54b1-2ec5-b8fbb438a60f
isbn 9780679645009, 9780812993219, 9781472107381
item_details Total Boox:6777519985468353042|6777519985468353042|Total Boox|Online Total Boox|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|Total Boox||http://cdn.totalboox.com/static/covers/CR/5e0e968497f3aa12-b.jpg||Available Online||Total Boox||, ils:911277|1247705|Wright Farms - Adult Fiction|FIC DEE i|Book|Books|1|false|false|||||On Shelf||wf||, overdrive:672e913a-b755-4d0e-813f-fcfab01768fb|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_catalog
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog FIC DEE i
owning_library_catalog All Anythink Libraries
owning_location_catalog Wright Farms
primary_isbn 9780812993219
publishDate 2013
record_details Total Boox:6777519985468353042|eBook|eBook||Unknown|Constable & Robinson|2013|1 online resource., ils:911277|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|Random House,|c2013.|214 p. ; 25 cm., overdrive:672e913a-b755-4d0e-813f-fcfab01768fb|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2013|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:911277|1247705|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:672e913a-b755-4d0e-813f-fcfab01768fb|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet , Business women -- Fiction, Corporations -- Corrupt practices -- Fiction, Divorced women -- Fiction, FICTION / Contemporary Women, FICTION / Family Life, FICTION / Literary, General Fiction, Man-woman relationships -- Fiction, Political corruption -- Fiction
title_display A thousand pardons : a novel
title_full A Thousand Pardons A Novel, A Thousand Pardons [eBook] Dee, Jonathan, A thousand pardons : a novel / Jonathan Dee
title_short A thousand pardons :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Business women, Corporations, Corrupt practices, Divorced women, Divorced women -- Fiction, Fiction, Literature, Man-woman relationships, Political corruption