The body has a mind of its own: how body maps in your brain help you do (almost) everything better

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Why do you still feel fat after losing weight? Why do you duck your head when you drive into an underground parking garage? Why are your kids so enthralled by video games?The answers to these questions can be found in a new understanding of how your brain interacts with your body, the space around your body, and the social world. Every point on your body, each internal organ, and every point in space out to the end of your fingertips is mapped inside your brain. Your ability to sense, move, and act in the physical world arises from a rich network of flexible body maps distributed throughout your brain.The science of body maps has far-reaching applications. It can help people lose weight, improve their ability to play a sport, or assist recovery from stroke. It points the way to new treatments for anorexia and phantom limbs. It helps explain out-of-body experiences, auras, placebos, and healing touch. It provides a new way to understand human emotions from love to hate, lust to disgust, pride to humiliation.With scientific discoveries from every corner of the globe, Sandra and Matthew Blakeslee have written a compelling narrative that is positively mind-bending and that will appeal to readers of Sharon Begley's Train Your Mind, Change Your Brain.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780812975277
9781400124978
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID f74f937f-3be3-282f-066b-52f6a38a4169
full_title body has a mind of its own how body maps in your brain help you do almost everything better
author blakeslee sandra
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-08-30 01:51:35AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Blakeslee, Matthew., Reading, Kate.
author Blakeslee, Sandra.
author2-role Blakeslee, Matthew., Reading, Kate.|Narrator, hoopla digital.
author_display Blakeslee, Sandra
detailed_location_catalog Wright Farms - Adult Nonfiction
display_description Why do you still feel fat after losing weight? Why do you duck your head when you drive into an underground parking garage? Why are your kids so enthralled by video games?The answers to these questions can be found in a new understanding of how your brain interacts with your body, the space around your body, and the social world. Every point on your body, each internal organ, and every point in space out to the end of your fingertips is mapped inside your brain. Your ability to sense, move, and act in the physical world arises from a rich network of flexible body maps distributed throughout your brain.The science of body maps has far-reaching applications. It can help people lose weight, improve their ability to play a sport, or assist recovery from stroke. It points the way to new treatments for anorexia and phantom limbs. It helps explain out-of-body experiences, auras, placebos, and healing touch. It provides a new way to understand human emotions from love to hate, lust to disgust, pride to humiliation.With scientific discoveries from every corner of the globe, Sandra and Matthew Blakeslee have written a compelling narrative that is positively mind-bending and that will appeal to readers of Sharon Begley's Train Your Mind, Change Your Brain.
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id f74f937f-3be3-282f-066b-52f6a38a4169
isbn 9780812975277, 9781400124978
item_details hoopla:MWT10756901||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/10756901||Available Online||||, ils:680906|1238538|Wright Farms - Adult Nonfiction|SOC SCI PSYCH o|Book|Books|1|false|false|||||Checked out||wf||
itype_catalog
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog SOC SCI PSYCH o
owning_library_catalog All Anythink Libraries
owning_location_catalog Wright Farms
primary_isbn 9780812975277
publishDate 2007, 2008
record_details hoopla:MWT10756901|eAudiobook|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Tantor Audio ,|2007.|1 online resource (1 audio file (540 min.)) : digital., ils:680906|Book|Books|Random House trade pbk. ed.|English|Random House,|2008.|228 p. : ill. ; 21 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog hoopla:MWT10756901||Available Online|Available Online|false|true|false|false|false|false||||, ils:680906|1238538|Checked Out|Checked out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||
subject_facet Brain -- Localization of functions, Mind and body, Psychology / Neuropsychology
title_display The body has a mind of its own : how body maps in your brain help you do (almost) everything better
title_full The body has a mind of its own : how body maps in your brain help you do (almost) everything better / Sandra Blakeslee and Matthew Blakeslee, The body has a mind of its own : how body maps in your brain help you do (almost) everything better [electronic resource] / Sandra Blakeslee and Matthew Blakeslee
title_short The body has a mind of its own :
title_sub how body maps in your brain help you do (almost) everything better
topic_facet Brain, Localization of functions, Mind and body