A Cry from the Dust: Gwen Marcey Series, Book 1

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2014
Language:
English
Description

"Parks, in her debut novel, has clearly done her research and never disappoints when it comes to crisp dialogue, characterization, or surprising twists and turns." —Publishers Weekly

A 19th-century conspiracy is about to be shattered by a 21st-century forensic artist.

In 1857, a wagon train in Utah was assaulted by a group of militant Mormons calling themselves the Avenging Angels. One hundred and forty people were murdered, including unarmed men, women, and children. The Mountain Meadows Massacre remains controversial to this day—but the truth may be written on the skulls of the victims.

When renowned forensic artist Gwen Marcey is recruited to reconstruct the faces of recently unearthed victims at Mountain Meadows, she isn't expecting more than an interesting gig . . . and a break from her own hectic life.

But when Gwen stumbles on the ritualized murder of a young college student, her work on the massacre takes on a terrifying new aspect, and research quickly becomes a race against modern-day fundamentalist terror.

As evidence of a cover-up mounts—a cover-up spanning the entire history of the Mormon church—Gwen finds herself in the crosshairs of a secret society bent on fulfilling prophecy and revenging old wrongs.

Can a forensic artist reconstruct two centuries of suppressed history . . . before it repeats itself?

In A Cry from the Dust, Carrie Stuart Parks utilizes her own background as a celebrated, FBI-trained forensic artist to blend fact and fiction into a stunning mystery.

"Parks' fast-paced and suspenseful debut novel is an entertaining addition to the inspirational genre. Her writing is polished, and the research behind the novel brings credibility to the story . . . An excellent book that is sure to put Carrie Stuart Parks on readers' radar." —RT Book Reviews, 4 stars

"Besides having a resourceful and likeable heroine, the book also features that rarest of characters: a villain you don't see coming, but whom you hate with relish . . . A Cry from the Dust will keep you hoping, praying and guessing till the end." —BookPage

"Renowned forensic artist Parks's action-packed and compelling tale of suspense is haunting in its intensity. Well researched and written in an almost journalistic style, this emotionally charged story is recommended for fans of Ted Dekker, Mary Higgins Clark, and historical suspense." —Library Journal

"Parks's real-life career as a forensic artist lends remarkable authenticity to her enthralling novel, A Cry from the Dust. Her work is a fresh new voice in suspense, and I became an instant fan. Highly recommended!" —Colleen Coble, USA TODAY bestselling author of the Hope Beach Series and The View from Rainshadow Bay

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9781401690441
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID fbaed1a1-fe7c-17b2-29a0-fb2830457f7e
Grouping Title cry from the dust
Grouping Author parks carrie stuart
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-19 01:47:29AM
Last Indexed 2018-09-18 04:26:48AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Carrie Stuart Parks
author2-role hoopla digital.
author_display Parks, Carrie Stuart
display_description

"Parks, in her debut novel, has clearly done her research and never disappoints when it comes to crisp dialogue, characterization, or surprising twists and turns." —Publishers Weekly

A 19th-century conspiracy is about to be shattered by a 21st-century forensic artist.

In 1857, a wagon train in Utah was assaulted by a group of militant Mormons calling themselves the Avenging Angels. One hundred and forty people were murdered, including unarmed men, women, and children. The Mountain Meadows Massacre remains controversial to this day—but the truth may be written on the skulls of the victims.

When renowned forensic artist Gwen Marcey is recruited to reconstruct the faces of recently unearthed victims at Mountain Meadows, she isn't expecting more than an interesting gig . . . and a break from her own hectic life.

But when Gwen stumbles on the ritualized murder of a young college student, her work on the massacre takes on a terrifying new aspect, and research quickly becomes a race against modern-day fundamentalist terror.

As evidence of a cover-up mounts—a cover-up spanning the entire history of the Mormon church—Gwen finds herself in the crosshairs of a secret society bent on fulfilling prophecy and revenging old wrongs.

Can a forensic artist reconstruct two centuries of suppressed history . . . before it repeats itself?

In A Cry from the Dust, Carrie Stuart Parks utilizes her own background as a celebrated, FBI-trained forensic artist to blend fact and fiction into a stunning mystery.

"Parks' fast-paced and suspenseful debut novel is an entertaining addition to the inspirational genre. Her writing is polished, and the research behind the novel brings credibility to the story . . . An excellent book that is sure to put Carrie Stuart Parks on readers' radar." —RT Book Reviews, 4 stars

"Besides having a resourceful and likeable heroine, the book also features that rarest of characters: a villain you don't see coming, but whom you hate with relish . . . A Cry from the Dust will keep you hoping, praying and guessing till the end." —BookPage

"Renowned forensic artist Parks's action-packed and compelling tale of suspense is haunting in its intensity. Well researched and written in an almost journalistic style, this emotionally charged story is recommended for fans of Ted Dekker, Mary Higgins Clark, and historical suspense." —Library Journal

"Parks's real-life career as a forensic artist lends remarkable authenticity to her enthralling novel, A Cry from the Dust. Her work is a fresh new voice in suspense, and I became an instant fan. Highly recommended!" —Colleen Coble, USA TODAY bestselling author of the Hope Beach Series and The View from Rainshadow Bay

format_catalog eBook
format_category_catalog eBook
id fbaed1a1-fe7c-17b2-29a0-fb2830457f7e
isbn 9781401690441
item_details hoopla:MWT12136076||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12136076||Available Online||||, overdrive:d56134ad-fbf5-42a0-8e2c-717dab5122a4|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog
last_indexed 2018-09-18T10:26:48.498Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
primary_isbn 9781401690441
publishDate 2014
record_details hoopla:MWT12136076|eBook|eBook||English|Thomas Nelson, Inc.,|2014.|1 online resource, overdrive:d56134ad-fbf5-42a0-8e2c-717dab5122a4|eBook|eBook||English|Thomas Nelson|2014|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT12136076 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
overdrive:d56134ad-fbf5-42a0-8e2c-717dab5122a4 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
series Gwen Marcey novels
series_with_volume Gwen Marcey novels|1
subject_facet Electronic books, Mormons -- Fiction, Mountain Meadows Massacre, Utah, 1857 -- Fiction, Mystery fiction, Utah -- Fiction
title_display A Cry from the Dust
title_full A Cry from the Dust Gwen Marcey Series, Book 1, A cry from the dust [electronic resource] / Carrie Stuart Parks
title_short A Cry from the Dust
title_sub Gwen Marcey Series, Book 1
topic_facet Electronic books, Fiction, Mormons, Mountain Meadows Massacre, Utah, 1857, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller