Important updates: Due to limited resources, the number of customer checkouts on hoopla digital will be reduced to 7 per month per person beginning April 1. Additionally, the “Recommend to library” function in Overdrive is now only available for use once daily. You can still go to the library’s Request It page to make your requests.

Partials: Partials Series, Book 1
(OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Series:
Published:
Balzer + Bray 2012
Format:
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen
Edition:
Unabridged
ISBN:
9780062132741
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 6.1 - AR Pts: 20
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 810L
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Description

For fans of The Hunger Games, Battlestar Galactica, and Blade Runner comes the first book in the Partials Sequence, a fast-paced, action-packed, and riveting sci-fi teen series, by acclaimed author Dan Wells.

Humanity is all but extinguished after a war with Partials—engineered organic beings identical to humans—has decimated the population. Reduced to only tens of thousands by a weaponized virus to which only a fraction of humanity is immune, the survivors in North America have huddled together on Long Island. But sixteen-year-old Kira is determined to find a solution. As she tries desperately to save what is left of her race, she discovers that that the survival of both humans and Partials rests in her attempts to answer questions about the war's origin that she never knew to ask.

Playing on our curiosity of and fascination with the complete collapse of civilization, Partials is, at its heart, a story of survival, one that explores the individual narratives and complex relationships of those left behind, both humans and Partials alike—and of the way in which the concept of what is right and wrong in this world is greatly dependent on one's own point of view.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Also in This Series
Formats
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Works on MP3 Players, PCs, and Macs. Some mobile devices may require an application to be installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Street Date:
02/28/2012
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 6.1, 20 Points
Lexile code:
HL: High-Low
Lexile measure:
810
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Dan Wells. (2012). Partials: Partials Series, Book 1. Unabridged Balzer + Bray.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Dan Wells. 2012. Partials: Partials Series, Book 1. Balzer + Bray.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Dan Wells, Partials: Partials Series, Book 1. Balzer + Bray, 2012.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Dan Wells. Partials: Partials Series, Book 1. Unabridged Balzer + Bray, 2012.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection11
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
0afe75e3-a545-7e81-7405-06e4677ec9d2
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Oct 10, 2014 11:41:09
Date Updated:
May 25, 2019 13:27:44
Last Metadata Check:
May 25, 2019 13:29:33
Last Metadata Change:
May 19, 2019 04:51:28
Last Availability Check:
May 25, 2019 13:29:34
Last Availability Change:
Mar 12, 2019 15:09:53

OverDrive Product Record

images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{5AB544AC-16F0-456C-B1C7-F07EDE08E93C}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{5AB544AC-16F0-456C-B1C7-F07EDE08E93C}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/5AB/544/AC/{5AB544AC-16F0-456C-B1C7-F07EDE08E93C}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/5AB/544/AC/{5AB544AC-16F0-456C-B1C7-F07EDE08E93C}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062132741
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062132741
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
mediaType
Audiobook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Dan Wells
title
Partials
dateAdded
2012-10-30T15:18:26.137-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=357&titleID=771244
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Rangeview Library District (CO)
          • id: 1636
sortTitle
Partials Partials Series Book 01
crossRefId
771244
series
Partials
subtitle
Partials Series, Book 1
id
5ab544ac-16f0-456c-b1c7-f07ede08e93c
starRating
4.3

OverDrive MetaData

interestLevel
UG
isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: Partials
      • partCount: 12
      • fileSize: 407275502
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062132741
      • rights:
            • type: PlayOnPC
            • value: 1
            • type: PlayOnPCCount
            • value: -1
            • type: BurnToCD
            • value: 1
            • type: BurnToCDCount
            • value: -1
            • type: PlayOnPM
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToNonSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferCount
            • value: -1
            • type: CollaborativePlay
            • value: 0
            • type: PublicPerformance
            • value: 0
            • type: TranscodeToAAC
            • value: 1
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • onSaleDate: 02/28/2012
      • samples:
            • source: Chapter 1
            • formatType: audiobook-wma
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-25/0293-1/771244-Partials.wma
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/0293-1/771244-Partials.mp3
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=5AB544AC-16F0-456C-B1C7-F07EDE08E93C&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: Partials
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 406542833
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062132741
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 02/28/2012
      • samples:
            • source: Chapter 1
            • formatType: audiobook-wma
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-25/0293-1/771244-Partials.wma
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/0293-1/771244-Partials.mp3
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=5AB544AC-16F0-456C-B1C7-F07EDE08E93C&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Wells, Dan
      • bioText:

        Dan Wells is the author of the Mirador series (Bluescreen, Ones and Zeroes, and Active Memory), as well as the New York Times bestselling Partials Sequence and the John Cleaver series—the first book of which, I Am Not a Serial Killer, has been made into a major motion picture. He has been nominated for the Campbell Award and has won a Hugo Award and three Parsec Awards for his podcast Writing Excuses. He plays a lot of games, reads a lot of books, and eats a lot of food, which is pretty much the ideal life he imagined for himself as a child. You can find out more online at www.thedanwells.com.

      • name: Dan Wells
      • role: Narrator
      • fileAs: Whelan, Julia
      • name: Julia Whelan
imprint
Balzer + Bray
publishDate
2012-02-28T00:00:00-05:00
edition
Unabridged
ATOS
6.1
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Partials
fullDescription

For fans of The Hunger Games, Battlestar Galactica, and Blade Runner comes the first book in the Partials Sequence, a fast-paced, action-packed, and riveting sci-fi teen series, by acclaimed author Dan Wells.

Humanity is all but extinguished after a war with Partials—engineered organic beings identical to humans—has decimated the population. Reduced to only tens of thousands by a weaponized virus to which only a fraction of humanity is immune, the survivors in North America have huddled together on Long Island. But sixteen-year-old Kira is determined to find a solution. As she tries desperately to save what is left of her race, she discovers that that the survival of both humans and Partials rests in her attempts to answer questions about the war's origin that she never knew to ask.

Playing on our curiosity of and fascination with the complete collapse of civilization, Partials is, at its heart, a story of survival, one that explores the individual narratives and complex relationships of those left behind, both humans and Partials alike—and of the way in which the concept of what is right and wrong in this world is greatly dependent on one's own point of view.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

gradeLevels
      • value: Grade 4
      • value: Grade 5
popularity
1885
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/L1BFQAAAA2k/products/5ab544ac-16f0-456c-b1c7-f07ede08e93c/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
5ab544ac-16f0-456c-b1c7-f07ede08e93c
starRating
4.3
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{5AB544AC-16F0-456C-B1C7-F07EDE08E93C}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{5AB544AC-16F0-456C-B1C7-F07EDE08E93C}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/5AB/544/AC/{5AB544AC-16F0-456C-B1C7-F07EDE08E93C}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/5AB/544/AC/{5AB544AC-16F0-456C-B1C7-F07EDE08E93C}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Science Fiction
      • value: Young Adult Fiction
publishDateText
02/28/2012
mediaType
Audiobook
shortDescription

The human race is all but extinct after a war with Partials—engineered organic beings identical to humans—has decimated the population. Reduced to only tens of thousands by RM, a weaponized virus to which only a fraction of humanity is immune, the survivors in North America have huddled together on Long Island while the Partials have mysteriously retreated. The threat of the Partials is still imminent, but, worse, no baby has been born immune to RM in more than a decade. Our time is running out.

Kira, a sixteen-year-old medic-in-training, is on the front lines of this battle, seeing RM ravage the community while mandatory pregnancy laws have pushed what's left of humanity to the brink of civil war, and she's not content to stand by and watch. But as she makes a desperate decision to save the last of her race, she will find that the survival of humans and Partials alike rests in her attempts to uncover the connections between them—connections that...

sortTitle
Partials Partials Series Book 01
crossRefId
771244
series
Partials
subtitle
Partials Series, Book 1
publisher
Balzer + Bray