Anythink Libraries and administrative offices are currently closed to the public until further notice. During this time, please keep any materials that you have checked out. All due dates have been extended, so no need to renew or return items at this time. Please do not return your items to the branches.

The girl they left behind: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
A sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation--perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah's Keyl On a freezing night in January 1941, a little Jewish girl is found on the steps of an apartment building in Bucharest. With Romania recently allied with the Nazis, the Jewish population is in grave danger, undergoing increasingly violent persecution. The girl is placed in an orphanage and eventually adopted by a wealthy childless couple who name her Natalia. As she assimilates into her new life, she all but forgets the parents who were forced to leave her behind. They are even further from her mind when Romania falls under Soviet occupation. Yet, as Natalia comes of age in a bleak and hopeless world, traces of her identity pierce the surface of her everyday life, leading gradually to a discovery that will change her destiny. She has a secret crush on Victor, an intense young man who as an impoverished student befriended her family long ago. Years later, when Natalia is in her early twenties and working at a warehouse packing fruit, she and Victor, now an important official in the Communist regime, cross paths again. This time they are fatefully drawn into a passionate affair despite the obstacles swirling around them and Victor's dark secrets. When Natalia is suddenly offered a one-time chance at freedom, Victor is determined to help her escape, even if it means losing her. Natalia must make an agonizing decision: remain in Bucharest with her beloved adoptive parents and the man she has come to love, or seize the chance to finally live life on her own terms, and to confront the painful enigma of her past.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781501187681
9781508268680
9781508268697
9781432861964
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID330499d6-f9f1-f4f4-aa14-924825d0e3b5
Grouping Titlegirl they left behind
Grouping Authorveletzos roxanne
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-03-11 01:51:40AM
Last Indexed2020-05-24 03:32:11AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Campbell, Cassandra,
Campbell, Cassandra.
authorVeletzos, Roxanne,
author2-roleCampbell, Cassandra,narrator.
Campbell, Cassandra.
author_displayVeletzos, Roxanne
available_at_catalogHuron Street
Perl Mack
Wright Farms
detailed_location_catalogBrighton - Adult Fiction - Historical
Huron Street - Adult CD Audiobooks - Fiction
Perl Mack - Adult CD Audiobooks - Fiction
Wright Farms - Adult Fiction - Historical
York Street - Large Print - Fiction
display_descriptionA sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation--perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah's Keyl On a freezing night in January 1941, a little Jewish girl is found on the steps of an apartment building in Bucharest. With Romania recently allied with the Nazis, the Jewish population is in grave danger, undergoing increasingly violent persecution. The girl is placed in an orphanage and eventually adopted by a wealthy childless couple who name her Natalia. As she assimilates into her new life, she all but forgets the parents who were forced to leave her behind. They are even further from her mind when Romania falls under Soviet occupation. Yet, as Natalia comes of age in a bleak and hopeless world, traces of her identity pierce the surface of her everyday life, leading gradually to a discovery that will change her destiny. She has a secret crush on Victor, an intense young man who as an impoverished student befriended her family long ago. Years later, when Natalia is in her early twenties and working at a warehouse packing fruit, she and Victor, now an important official in the Communist regime, cross paths again. This time they are fatefully drawn into a passionate affair despite the obstacles swirling around them and Victor's dark secrets. When Natalia is suddenly offered a one-time chance at freedom, Victor is determined to help her escape, even if it means losing her. Natalia must make an agonizing decision: remain in Bucharest with her beloved adoptive parents and the man she has come to love, or seize the chance to finally live life on her own terms, and to confront the painful enigma of her past.
format_catalogAudio Book
Book
Large Print
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
Large Print
id330499d6-f9f1-f4f4-aa14-924825d0e3b5
isbn9781432861964
9781501187681
9781508268680
9781508268697
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:11933912046268Wright Farms - Adult Fiction - HistoricalFIC HISTORY VELETZOS oBookBooks1falsefalseChecked outwf
ils:11933912046266Wright Farms - Adult Fiction - HistoricalFIC HISTORY VELETZOS iBookBooks1falsefalseOn Shelfwf
ils:11933912046267Brighton - Adult Fiction - HistoricalFIC HISTORY VELETZOS oBookBooks1falsefalseChecked outbr
ils:12176032125429York Street - Large Print - FictionLP FIC HISTORY VELETZOS oLarge PrintLarge Print1falsefalseChecked outth
ils:12086322083831Perl Mack - Adult CD Audiobooks - FictionCD FIC HISTORY VELETZOS iAudio BookAudio Books1falsefalseOn Shelfpm
ils:12086322083830Huron Street - Adult CD Audiobooks - FictionCD FIC HISTORY VELETZOS iAudio BookAudio Books1falsefalseOn Shelfng
last_indexed2020-05-24T09:32:11.524Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogCD FIC HISTORY VELETZOS i
FIC HISTORY VELETZOS i
FIC HISTORY VELETZOS o
LP FIC HISTORY VELETZOS o
owning_library_catalogAll Anythink Libraries
owning_location_catalogBrighton
Huron Street
Perl Mack
Wright Farms
York Street
primary_isbn9781501187681
publishDate2018
2019
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:1193391BookBooksFirst Atria Books hardcover edition.EnglishAtria Books, 2018.353 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm.
ils:1217603Large PrintLarge PrintLarge print edition.EnglishThorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2019.519 pages (large print) : illustrations ; 23 cm.
ils:1208632Audio BookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishSimon & Schuster Audio, Inc., [2018]9 audio discs (11 hr.) : CD audio, digital ; 4 3/4 in.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:11933912046268Checked OutChecked outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:11933912046266On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:11933912046267Checked OutChecked outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:12176032125429Checked OutChecked outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:12086322083831On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:12086322083830On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
seriesThorndike Press large print peer picks
series_with_volumeThorndike Press large print peer picks|
subject_facet
Audiobooks
FICTION / General
FICTION / Historical
FICTION / Literary
Families
Families -- Hungary -- Fiction
Families -- Romania -- Fiction
Fiction
Historical
Historical fiction
Hungary
Hungary -- Budapest
Hungary -- Social conditions -- 1945-1989 -- Fiction
Large print books
Large type books
Novels
Romania -- Social conditions -- 1945-1989 -- Fiction
Social history
War fiction
World War (1939-1945)
World War, 1939-1945 -- Hungary -- Budapest -- Fiction
World War, 1939-1945 -- Romania -- Bucharest -- Fiction
Young women -- Romania -- Fiction
title_displayThe girl they left behind : a novel
title_fullThe girl they left behind / [large print] by Roxanne Veletzos
The girl they left behind : a novel / Roxanne Veletzos
title_shortThe girl they left behind
title_suba novel
topic_facetFICTION / General
FICTION / Historical
FICTION / Literary
Families
Historical
Large print books
Large type books
Social conditions
Social history
World War, 1939-1945
Young women