Curbside services are now available at all Anythink locations during special hours. Our bookdrops are open, and due dates have been extended to June 30. All returned materials are quarantined for 72 hours so they may not appear checked-in on your account right away.

The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2018
Language:
English
Description
As heard on NPR's This American Life"Absorbing . . . Though it's non-fiction, The Feather Thief contains many of the elements of a classic thriller." —Maureen Corrigan, NPR's Fresh Air"One of the most peculiar and memorable true-crime books ever." —Christian Science MonitorA rollicking true-crime adventure and a captivating journey into an underground world of fanatical fly-tiers and plume peddlers, for readers of The Stranger in the Woods, The Lost City of Z, and The Orchid Thief.On a cool June evening in 2009, after performing a concert at London's Royal Academy of Music, twenty-year-old American flautist Edwin Rist boarded a train for a suburban outpost of the British Museum of Natural History. Home to one of the largest ornithological collections in the world, the Tring museum was full of rare bird specimens whose gorgeous feathers were worth staggering amounts of money to the men who shared Edwin's obsession: the Victorian art of salmon fly-tying. Once inside the museum, the champion fly-tier grabbed hundreds of bird skins—some collected 150 years earlier by a contemporary of Darwin's, Alfred Russel Wallace, who'd risked everything to gather them—and escaped into the darkness.Two years later, Kirk Wallace Johnson was waist high in a river in northern New Mexico when his fly-fishing guide told him about the heist. He was soon consumed by the strange case of the feather thief. What would possess a person to steal dead birds? Had Edwin paid the price for his crime? What became of the missing skins? In his search for answers, Johnson was catapulted into a years-long, worldwide investigation. The gripping story of a bizarre and shocking crime, and one man's relentless pursuit of justice, The Feather Thief is also a fascinating exploration of obsession, and man's destructive instinct to harvest the beauty of nature.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780525530077
9781101981627
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID86a91aec-822e-737e-90d0-5a38b7332d23
Grouping Titlefeather thief beauty obsession and the natural history heist of the century
Grouping Authorjohnson kirk wallace
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-06-04 01:42:06AM
Last Indexed2020-06-03 23:46:53PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorKirk Wallace Johnson
author_displayKirk Wallace Johnson
display_descriptionAs heard on NPR's This American Life
"Absorbing . . . Though it's non-fiction, The Feather Thief contains many of the elements of a classic thriller." —Maureen Corrigan, NPR's Fresh Air
"One of the most peculiar and memorable true-crime books ever." —Christian Science Monitor
A rollicking true-crime adventure and a captivating journey into an underground world of fanatical fly-tiers and plume peddlers, for readers of The Stranger in the Woods, The Lost City of Z, and The Orchid Thief.
On a cool June evening in 2009, after performing a concert at London's Royal Academy of Music, twenty-year-old American flautist Edwin Rist boarded a train for a suburban outpost of the British Museum of Natural History. Home to one of the largest ornithological collections in the world, the Tring museum was full of rare bird specimens whose gorgeous feathers were worth staggering amounts of money to the men who shared Edwin's obsession: the Victorian art of salmon fly-tying. Once inside the museum, the champion fly-tier grabbed hundreds of bird skins—some collected 150 years earlier by a contemporary of Darwin's, Alfred Russel Wallace, who'd risked everything to gather them—and escaped into the darkness.
Two years later, Kirk Wallace Johnson was waist high in a river in northern New Mexico when his fly-fishing guide told him about the heist. He was soon consumed by the strange case of the feather thief. What would possess a person to steal dead birds? Had Edwin paid the price for his crime? What became of the missing skins? In his search for answers, Johnson was catapulted into a years-long, worldwide investigation. The gripping story of a bizarre and shocking crime, and one man's relentless pursuit of justice, The Feather Thief is also a fascinating exploration of obsession, and man's destructive instinct to harvest the beauty of nature.
format_catalogeAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
eBook
id86a91aec-822e-737e-90d0-5a38b7332d23
isbn9780525530077
9781101981627
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:39a839f8-374a-44cf-923b-775ce910c659-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
overdrive:ae6287c7-7c99-4d7a-a380-d2c6aaa89ebc-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
last_indexed2020-06-04T05:46:53.797Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
primary_isbn9780525530077
publishDate2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:39a839f8-374a-44cf-923b-775ce910c659eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2018
overdrive:ae6287c7-7c99-4d7a-a380-d2c6aaa89ebceBookeBookEnglishPenguin Publishing Group2018
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:39a839f8-374a-44cf-923b-775ce910c659-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:ae6287c7-7c99-4d7a-a380-d2c6aaa89ebc-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
title_displayThe Feather Thief Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century
title_fullThe Feather Thief Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century
title_shortThe Feather Thief
title_subBeauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century
topic_facetNature
Nonfiction
Travel
True Crime