Anythink Libraries and administrative offices are currently closed to the public until further notice. During this time, please keep any materials that you have checked out. All due dates have been extended, so no need to renew or return items at this time. Please do not return your items to the branches.

The girl they left behind: a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York : Atria Books, 2018.
Format:
Book
Edition:
First Atria Books hardcover edition.
ISBN:
9781501187681
Physical Desc:
353 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm.
Status:
3 copies, 1 person is on the wait list.
Wright Farms - Adult Fiction - Historical
FIC HISTORY VELETZOS i
Description

A sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation--perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah's Keyl On a freezing night in January 1941, a little Jewish girl is found on the steps of an apartment building in Bucharest. With Romania recently allied with the Nazis, the Jewish population is in grave danger, undergoing increasingly violent persecution. The girl is placed in an orphanage and eventually adopted by a wealthy childless couple who name her Natalia. As she assimilates into her new life, she all but forgets the parents who were forced to leave her behind. They are even further from her mind when Romania falls under Soviet occupation. Yet, as Natalia comes of age in a bleak and hopeless world, traces of her identity pierce the surface of her everyday life, leading gradually to a discovery that will change her destiny. She has a secret crush on Victor, an intense young man who as an impoverished student befriended her family long ago. Years later, when Natalia is in her early twenties and working at a warehouse packing fruit, she and Victor, now an important official in the Communist regime, cross paths again. This time they are fatefully drawn into a passionate affair despite the obstacles swirling around them and Victor's dark secrets. When Natalia is suddenly offered a one-time chance at freedom, Victor is determined to help her escape, even if it means losing her. Natalia must make an agonizing decision: remain in Bucharest with her beloved adoptive parents and the man she has come to love, or seize the chance to finally live life on her own terms, and to confront the painful enigma of her past.

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Brighton - Adult Fiction - Historical
FIC HISTORY VELETZOS o
Checked out
Wright Farms - Adult Fiction - Historical
FIC HISTORY VELETZOS i
On Shelf
Wright Farms - Adult Fiction - Historical
FIC HISTORY VELETZOS o
Checked out
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Language:
English

Notes

Description
A sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation--perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah's Keyl On a freezing night in January 1941, a little Jewish girl is found on the steps of an apartment building in Bucharest. With Romania recently allied with the Nazis, the Jewish population is in grave danger, undergoing increasingly violent persecution. The girl is placed in an orphanage and eventually adopted by a wealthy childless couple who name her Natalia. As she assimilates into her new life, she all but forgets the parents who were forced to leave her behind. They are even further from her mind when Romania falls under Soviet occupation. Yet, as Natalia comes of age in a bleak and hopeless world, traces of her identity pierce the surface of her everyday life, leading gradually to a discovery that will change her destiny. She has a secret crush on Victor, an intense young man who as an impoverished student befriended her family long ago. Years later, when Natalia is in her early twenties and working at a warehouse packing fruit, she and Victor, now an important official in the Communist regime, cross paths again. This time they are fatefully drawn into a passionate affair despite the obstacles swirling around them and Victor's dark secrets. When Natalia is suddenly offered a one-time chance at freedom, Victor is determined to help her escape, even if it means losing her. Natalia must make an agonizing decision: remain in Bucharest with her beloved adoptive parents and the man she has come to love, or seize the chance to finally live life on her own terms, and to confront the painful enigma of her past.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Veletzos, R. (2018). The girl they left behind: a novel. First Atria Books hardcover edition. New York: Atria Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Veletzos, Roxanne. 2018. The Girl They Left Behind: A Novel. New York: Atria Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Veletzos, Roxanne, The Girl They Left Behind: A Novel. New York: Atria Books, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Veletzos, Roxanne. The Girl They Left Behind: A Novel. First Atria Books hardcover edition. New York: Atria Books, 2018. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
330499d6-f9f1-f4f4-aa14-924825d0e3b5
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeMar 11, 2020 01:59:22 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMar 11, 2020 01:51:40 AM

MARC Record

LEADER04083pam a2200481 i 4500
001  2018005009
003DLC
00520190823080500.0
007t|
008180227s2018    nyua          000 1 eng d
010 |a  2018005009
020 |a 9781501187681|q (hardcover)
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d DLC|d TnLvILS|d UtOrBLW
042 |a pcc
043 |a e-hu---
05000|a PS3622.E437|b S63 2018
08200|a 813/.6|2 23
084 |a FIC019000|a FIC014000|2 bisacsh
099 |a FIC HISTORY VELETZOS
1001 |a Veletzos, Roxanne,|e author.|0 n 2018011470|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n2018011470.|4 aut
24514|a The girl they left behind :|b a novel /|c Roxanne Veletzos.
250 |a First Atria Books hardcover edition.
264 1|a New York :|b Atria Books,|c 2018.
300 |a 353 pages :|b illustrations ;|c 24 cm.
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent|0 http://rdaregistry.info/termList/RDAContentType/1020
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia|0 http://rdaregistry.info/termList/RDAMediaType/1007
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier|0 http://rdaregistry.info/termList/RDACarrierType/1049
520 |a A sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation--perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah's Keyl On a freezing night in January 1941, a little Jewish girl is found on the steps of an apartment building in Bucharest. With Romania recently allied with the Nazis, the Jewish population is in grave danger, undergoing increasingly violent persecution. The girl is placed in an orphanage and eventually adopted by a wealthy childless couple who name her Natalia. As she assimilates into her new life, she all but forgets the parents who were forced to leave her behind. They are even further from her mind when Romania falls under Soviet occupation. Yet, as Natalia comes of age in a bleak and hopeless world, traces of her identity pierce the surface of her everyday life, leading gradually to a discovery that will change her destiny. She has a secret crush on Victor, an intense young man who as an impoverished student befriended her family long ago. Years later, when Natalia is in her early twenties and working at a warehouse packing fruit, she and Victor, now an important official in the Communist regime, cross paths again. This time they are fatefully drawn into a passionate affair despite the obstacles swirling around them and Victor's dark secrets. When Natalia is suddenly offered a one-time chance at freedom, Victor is determined to help her escape, even if it means losing her. Natalia must make an agonizing decision: remain in Bucharest with her beloved adoptive parents and the man she has come to love, or seize the chance to finally live life on her own terms, and to confront the painful enigma of her past.
650 0|a Families|z Hungary|0 sh2008120199|v Fiction.
650 0|a World War, 1939-1945|z Hungary|z Budapest|0 sh2008113829|v Fiction.
650 1|a Families|z Hungary|0 sh2008120199|v Fiction.
650 7|a World War, 1939-1945|z Hungary|z Budapest|0 sh2008113829|v Fiction.|2 sears
651 0|a Hungary|x Social conditions|y 1945-1989|0 sh 85063083|v Fiction.
655 7|a War fiction.|2 lcgft|0 gf2014026590|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026590
655 7|a Historical fiction.|2 lcgft|0 gf2014026370|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026370
690 |a FICTION / Literary
690 |a FICTION / Historical
77608|i Online version:|a Veletzos, Roxanne author.|t So that she may live|b First Atria Books hardcover edition.|d New York : Atria Books, 2018|z 9781501187704|w (DLC) 2018010080
907 |a 1193391
949 |b 33021032090976|c afichis|d FIC HISTORY VELETZOS|m br|n 2046267|s Ingram Library Services|t af|v o
949 |b 33021032151166|c afichis|d FIC HISTORY VELETZOS|m wf|n 2046266|s Ingram Library Services|t af|v i
949 |b 33021032090984|c afichis|d FIC HISTORY VELETZOS|m wf|n 2046268|s Ingram Library Services|t af|v o
999 |a 1193391