Anythink Libraries and administrative offices are currently closed to the public until further notice. During this time, please keep any materials that you have checked out. All due dates have been extended, so no need to renew or return items at this time. Please do not return your items to the branches.

The girl they left behind
(Large Print)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
Waterville, Maine : Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2019.
Format:
Large Print
Edition:
Large print edition.
ISBN:
9781432861964, 1432861964
Physical Desc:
519 pages (large print) : illustrations ; 23 cm.
Status:
Description

A sweeping historical romance that is "gripping, tragic, yet filled with passion and hope" (Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author), offering a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest during World War II and its aftermath--perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah's Key . On a freezing night in January 1941, a little Jewish girl is found on the steps of an apartment building in Bucharest. With Romania recently allied with the Nazis, the Jewish population is in grave danger so the girl is placed in an orphanage and eventually adopted by a wealthy childless couple who name her Natalia. As she assimilates into her new life, she all but forgets the parents who were forced to leave her behind. As a young woman in Soviet Romania, Natalia crosses paths with Victor--an important official in the Communist regime that she used to know as an impoverished young student. Now they are fatefully drawn into a passionate affair despite the obstacles swirling around them and Victor's dark secrets. When Natalia is suddenly offered a one-time chance at freedom, Victor is determined to help her escape, even if it means losing her. Natalia must make an agonizing decision: remain in Bucharest with her beloved adoptive parents and the man she has come to love, or seize the chance to finally live life on her own terms, and to confront the painful enigma of her past. The Girl They Left Behind "is a vividly told, beautifully written, impossible-but-true story" (Helen Bryan, internationally bestselling author of War Brides ) that you won't soon forget.

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
York Street - Large Print - Fiction
LP FIC HISTORY VELETZOS o
Checked out
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Language:
English

Notes

Description
A sweeping historical romance that is "gripping, tragic, yet filled with passion and hope" (Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author), offering a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest during World War II and its aftermath--perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah's Key . On a freezing night in January 1941, a little Jewish girl is found on the steps of an apartment building in Bucharest. With Romania recently allied with the Nazis, the Jewish population is in grave danger so the girl is placed in an orphanage and eventually adopted by a wealthy childless couple who name her Natalia. As she assimilates into her new life, she all but forgets the parents who were forced to leave her behind. As a young woman in Soviet Romania, Natalia crosses paths with Victor--an important official in the Communist regime that she used to know as an impoverished young student. Now they are fatefully drawn into a passionate affair despite the obstacles swirling around them and Victor's dark secrets. When Natalia is suddenly offered a one-time chance at freedom, Victor is determined to help her escape, even if it means losing her. Natalia must make an agonizing decision: remain in Bucharest with her beloved adoptive parents and the man she has come to love, or seize the chance to finally live life on her own terms, and to confront the painful enigma of her past. The Girl They Left Behind "is a vividly told, beautifully written, impossible-but-true story" (Helen Bryan, internationally bestselling author of War Brides ) that you won't soon forget.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Veletzos, R. (2019). The girl they left behind. Large print edition. Waterville, Maine: Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Veletzos, Roxanne. 2019. The Girl They Left Behind. Waterville, Maine: Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Veletzos, Roxanne, The Girl They Left Behind. Waterville, Maine: Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2019.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Veletzos, Roxanne. The Girl They Left Behind. Large print edition. Waterville, Maine: Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2019. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
330499d6-f9f1-f4f4-aa14-924825d0e3b5
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeJan 31, 2020 01:56:08 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMar 11, 2020 01:51:40 AM

MARC Record

LEADER04678cam a22006498i 4500
001on1057733988
003OCoLC
00520190827125600.0
007t|
008181022t20192018meua    d     000 1 eng  
010 |a  2018049292
020 |a 9781432861964|q (hardcover)
020 |a 1432861964|q (hardcover)
035 |a (OCoLC)1057733988
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d OCLCO|d OCLCF|d ORX|d HBP|d INO|d JNE|d KAA|d BYV|d UtOrBLW
042 |a pcc
043 |a e-hu---
05010|a PS3622.E437|b S63 2019
08200|a 813/.6|2 23
099 |a LP FIC HISTORY VELETZOS
1001 |a Veletzos, Roxanne,|e author.|0 n 2018011470|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n2018011470.|4 aut
24514|a The girl they left behind /|h [large print]|c by Roxanne Veletzos.
250 |a Large print edition.
264 1|a Waterville, Maine :|b Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company,|c 2019.
264 4|c ©2018
300 |a 519 pages (large print) :|b illustrations ;|c 23 cm.
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent|0 http://rdaregistry.info/termList/RDAContentType/1020
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia|0 http://rdaregistry.info/termList/RDAMediaType/1007
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier|0 http://rdaregistry.info/termList/RDACarrierType/1049
340 |n large print|2 rdafs.
4901 |a Thorndike Press large print peer picks
520 |a A sweeping historical romance that is "gripping, tragic, yet filled with passion and hope" (Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author), offering a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest during World War II and its aftermath--perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah's Key . On a freezing night in January 1941, a little Jewish girl is found on the steps of an apartment building in Bucharest. With Romania recently allied with the Nazis, the Jewish population is in grave danger so the girl is placed in an orphanage and eventually adopted by a wealthy childless couple who name her Natalia. As she assimilates into her new life, she all but forgets the parents who were forced to leave her behind. As a young woman in Soviet Romania, Natalia crosses paths with Victor--an important official in the Communist regime that she used to know as an impoverished young student. Now they are fatefully drawn into a passionate affair despite the obstacles swirling around them and Victor's dark secrets. When Natalia is suddenly offered a one-time chance at freedom, Victor is determined to help her escape, even if it means losing her. Natalia must make an agonizing decision: remain in Bucharest with her beloved adoptive parents and the man she has come to love, or seize the chance to finally live life on her own terms, and to confront the painful enigma of her past. The Girl They Left Behind "is a vividly told, beautifully written, impossible-but-true story" (Helen Bryan, internationally bestselling author of War Brides ) that you won't soon forget.
61127|a World War (1939-1945)|2 fast|0 (OCoLC)fst01180924
650 0|a Young women|z Romania|0 sh 85149296|v Fiction.
650 0|a Families|z Romania|0 sh 85047009|v Fiction.
650 0|a World War, 1939-1945|z Romania|z Bucharest|0 sh2008113885|v Fiction.
650 7|a Young women|z Romania|0 sh 85149296|v Fiction.|2 sears
650 1|a Families|z Romania|0 sh 85047009|v Fiction.
650 7|a World War, 1939-1945|z Romania|z Bucharest|0 sh2008113885|v Fiction.|2 sears
650 7|a Large print books|0 sh 85074712|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85074712.|2 sears
650 0|a Large type books|0 (OCoLC)fst00992678.
650 7|a Large print books|0 (OCoLC)fst00992678.|2 sears
650 0|a Social history|0 (OCoLC)fst01919811.
650 7|a Social history|0 (OCoLC)fst01919811.|2 sears
651 0|a Romania|x Social conditions|y 1945-1989|0 sh 85115027|v Fiction.
650 0|a Large type books|0 sh 85074712|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85074712.
650 7|a Large type books.|2 fast|0 (OCoLC)fst00992678
650 7|a Social history.|2 fast|0 (OCoLC)fst01919811
648 7|a 1939-1989|2 fast
655 7|a Fiction.|2 fast|0 (OCoLC)fst01423787
655 7|a War fiction.|2 lcgft|0 gf2014026590|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026590
655 7|a Novels.|2 lcgft|0 gf2015026020|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2015026020
655 7|a Historical fiction.|2 lcgft|0 gf2014026370|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026370
830 0|a Thorndike Press large print peer picks.|0 no2013088703|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/no2013088703
907 |a 1217603
949 |b 33021030900895|c lp|d LP FIC HISTORY VELETZOS|m th|n 2125429|t lp|v o
999 |a 1217603